Archive | 7:08 pm

Fashion (And Falafel) Friday

11 Mar

TGIF, y’all!

Before I get to my traditional Fashion Friday post, I want to talk falafel.

I’ve admitted my love for falafel on more than one occasion. How can you not like deep-fried chick peas? It’s impossible, I tell ya! But since I’m on this diet and all, I figured falafel would be out of my life for a while. Not true, my friends, not true. I have discovered oven-baked falafel.

Pan fry is for about two minutes on each side:

Then throw the pan in the oven on 400* for about 10 minutes. All together in a pita stuffed with spinach, sprouts, feta and hummus:

While it wasn’t as good as deep-fried falafel, it definitely did the trick.  And y’know, since it’s Friday, I decided I should stop by Starbucks on the way to work:

Skinny Caramel Macchiato, how I’ve missed thee.

Remember how I said I wasn’t that sore from Ab Ripper X?  Well, I lied.  It was that sneaky soreness that shows up gradually the next day.  By the end of yesterday, my back and obliques were killing me.  I could barely move!  I did have a moment of sheer genius when I decided to foam roll my lower back.  Best. Idea. Ever. It immediately relieved the vast majority of the pain.

Alrighty, on to the FASHION!  I know I’m a little late on the whole Oscars-thing, but can I just say that I absolutely love Rachel McAdams’ look?

That woman is gorgeous!  And her every day look is pretty great too:

I’m very much a jeans, t-shirt and cardigan kinda girl, so her style suits my tastes.

What Oscar looks were your favorite?

Don’t Judge

11 Mar

My inner Twi-hard is going apeshit today (Don’t judge me).  The Eclipse trailer has been released.  I mistakenly thought it was going to be released at 6 am Eastern time, so when I woke up this morning, I immediately opened my Macbook to watch it.  I was really disappointed to find out it was 6 am Pacific time.  Lame.  I’ve only been able to watch it without sound thus far (my lame work computer doesn’t have speakers), but I am beyond excited for Eclipse.   I’m also beyond embarrassed with my Twilight obsession.  Its sad.

I know it’s only day 3, but I really like Weight Watchers.  I’m attempting to take a little more of a cleaning eating/natural approach towards the plan and avoiding the WW-branded preservative-filled foods.   This morning for breakfast, I had a banana and a whole-wheat waffle slathered in almond butter:

Has anyone noticed that almond butter with honey gets stuck in your mouth like its peanut butter and super glue?!  While I love it, I don’t love the overwhelming urge to scrub my teeth afterward.

Surprisingly enough, I’m actually not sore from doing p90x’s Ab Ripper X last night.  I figured I’d at least be a little sore.  Looks like the abbies are in better shape than I thought!  Don’t ya love it when you surprise yourself with how in-shape you really are?  It’s a great feeling!