Archive | 7:24 pm

The Invention of an Awesome Evening

6 Mar

It felt ridiculously good to be lazy this afternoon. We watched Francis Ford Coppola’s Dracula. It was, well, weird. But dinner… dinner, on the other hand, was just plain awesome.

It all started with some steamed sugar snap peas:

And some sauteed peppers:

Look at those colors!!  Gorgeous!  Did I mention that I got conned into buying some Girl Scout Cookies?!

Yeah.  $4 a box.  They were $2 a box when I started selling them in first grade.  They’re almost as bad as OPEC!

So back to dinner, Hubby grilled some bratwursts:

We may have cooked a few extra to eat over the next few days.  We admit our addiction.  We know the first step to recovery is asking for help.

And for my masterpiece, scalloped potatoes:

Put it all together and what do you get?!

Delicious is what you get.

Quick tip: When eating, I always eat the veggies or whatever is healthiest first.  Then I move onto my less healthy options.  Therefore, what’s leftover on my plate is the bad stuff!  Silly, but it makes sense in my head and works for my tummy.

And since we all know you can’t eat a bratwurst without having a beer, Sierra Nevada was a must:

And Entertainment Weekly.  I kind of wish it was Us Weekly instead.  I love my celebrity gossip!

Now we’re off to watch The Invention of Lying.  I have high hopes for this movie, so let’s hope it lives up to them.  Have you seen it?  What’d ya think?

Saturday at the Park

6 Mar

Hey, hey, hey, it’s Saturday!

And a BIG BELATED HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my sister-in-law, Cheryl!

There’s a great park about a mile and a half from my mom’s house.  I’m pretty sure I’ve talked about it before.  It has a playground, soccer fields, walking paths, and a pond.  Since we’re house sitting for her this weekend, we thought it would be fun to run up there, do some upper body and abs, and run home.  And ya know what?   It was pretty great!

Park pics:

Once we got to the park, we did:

  • 50 crunches
  • 40 push-ups
  • 25 dips on a bench
  • 100 bicycle crunches
  • 25 inclince push-ups
  • 50 twisting crunches
  • 50 reverse crunches
  • 20 walking lunges

Yes, that’s right.  I do push-ups in pearls (and Coach sunglasses. Shut up.):

It was such a great workout! Okay, that’s a total lie. IT SUCKED.  We left the house too soon after eating, and the run there absolutely killed me.  I felt tired and I could barely run.  After we got to the park and got started with the calisthenics, I started to feel a little better.  We decided it might be best just to walk home.  Next time, I’ll digest a little longer before I hit the pavement.

After our workout, we headed down to St. Johns County to get some ideas for paint colors for the outside of the house. Right now, we’re thinking a pretty moss green with creamy white trim, a black roof and the grayish-brown colored stone.

Since we were on that side of town, a trip to Whole Foods was necessary.  It was the Hubby’s first trip to WF.  He had no idea how fantastic it was.  We scored:

  • Bananas for $0.69/lb
  • Braeburn apples for $0.99/lb
  • Almond butter
  • Snap peas
  • Yellow, Green and Red peppers:

YUM!

Tomorrow morning, we’re heading downtown to run the bridges. With the River Run a week away, I need to get prepared. I know, its a little late, but its better than nothing….. right?