Archive | 8:12 pm

Vodka Cranberry

21 Jul


I would kill for a vodka cranberry right now.

My husband and I drink a lot of wine. The only time we drink liquor is when we go out to dinner. Now that I’m unemployed, going out to dinner isn’t going to happen for awhile. So of course, now that it’s not readily available, all I want is a vodka cranberry.

Maybe I should just suck it up and buy some cheap vodka and a bottle of cranberry juice. Then I can lay by the pool all day drinking it. Being unemployed does have its advantages.

How to Lose 20lbs in 4 Weeks..

21 Jul

And gain it back in 4 more weeks

The latest cover of Life & Style features a newly svelte Khloe Kardashian. While I commend her effort at becoming healthy, the attempt seems quite misguided.

Khloe mentions her desire to no longer be the “fat, funny one”. She also claims at one point, she was up to a size 10. She talks about it like she was a whale. Last time I checked, size 10 for a 5’9″ woman isn’t large at all. It’s healthy.

But, I digress. The article explains how Khloe lost an astounding 20lbs in four weeks thanks to help from her sister, Kim. I understand that Life & Style is attempting to appeal to the every day reader who cannot afford a personal trainer and dietitican to track every exercise and bite of food. I completely support the decision to promote the ability to get in shape on your own. Its fantastic. Yet, is what Khloe did healthy? Most health experts would agree, that no, it is not healthy to lose weight at a rate of more than 2lbs per week. Beyond 2lbs per week tends to be the result of a crash diet. Any girl can tell you, crash dieting will help you fit into that teeny, tiny bikini or super fitted pair of pants, but in the long run, you’ll gain those pounds back within a few weeks. All it takes is going back to eating normally. Its a vicious cycle where many women find themselves victims of repeated self-inflicted abuse.

The only way to make a truly lasting change in our weight is to make a change in our lifestyle. Programs such as The Zone Diet, SparkPeople and Weight Watchers preach the virtues of eating a balanced diet. Exercise cannot be forgotten either.

I am making it my new mission to break the cycle: I will no longer succumb to crash diets. I will eat a healthy, balanced diet. I will remind myself that well-being isn’t completely controlled by a number on a scale. I will not be one of those people who preaches that the number on the scale doesn’t matter at all because in all reality, it does. When that number is too high (as in morbid obesity high), health risks soar. When that number is too low (as in total emication), health risks soar as well. Yes, the scale does matter. But, it cannot control every aspect of your life.

From this moment, I pledge to say yes:
Say yes to that slice of red velvet cake because I know it will not cause me to suddenly gain 10-lbs.
Say yes to fruits, vegetables, salads, and lean protein.
Say yes to exercise.
Say yes to committing to a healthy life for mental, physical and emotional reasons

I hope you join me in my pledge.