Archive | 6:53 pm

Somebody Take My “Food Blogger” Card…

14 Apr

‘Cause I just had a KFC Double Down.

Well, half anyways.  And half an order of potato wedges.

And holy mother, it was GOOD.  Judge all you want, but it was so juicy and delicious.  Am I going to eat one ever again?  Probably not, but I just had to try it.

I’m a firm believer in moderated splurges. Without moderated splurges, we all inevitably end up binging unnecessarily.

Whats your most ridiculous splurge ever?

Coupon Organization

14 Apr

For months now, I’ve had all my coupons held together with a paper clip.  Ghetto and inefficient.  Time after time, I found myself in the corner of a grocery aisle attempting to flip through them and find all the ones I needed to use.  More than once, they all ended up on the floor.

Tuesday night, when I couldn’t find one at Publix, I finally lost it.  I had to find some way to efficiently organize all my coupons.

So what did I do?  I went to Target of course.  I knew I needed something where I could see every individual coupon.  I hate the normal mini-file folder coupon organizers.  They leave me frustrated and annoyed.  I also knew I needed something small enough to carry around in my purse at all times because, well, I never know when I’m going to pop by the store on the way home from work.

I bought a little binder and some inserts for it.  First, a note pad to write my grocery list (and whatever else I need to write down):

And a way to see every single coupon:

I picked up sheets of business card organizers and placed the coupons in them to be seen from both sides.  All of them are organized by grocery section, of course. The sections I used are:

  • Frozen
  • Refrigerated (cheese, Jell-o, Coffee Creamer, etc)
  • Grains (Bread, Pasta, Rice, etc)
  • Baking Aisle (frosting, baking mixes, and Coffee – cause it’s on the same aisle)
  • Snacks (nuts, chips, granola bars, pretzels, etc)
  • Wine
  • And everything else

And I needed a place to put all of my “bulk” coupons:

I have a tendency to clip every single yogurt and razor coupon I see.  Instead of putting those individually (because it would take up multiple sheets), I just put them in sheet-sized pockets.

If you’re a couponer, how do you organize your coupons?  Am I being overly anal-retentive?

I’ll let you know in a week or so how well this new system works 🙂

Yes, I Still Do Food Posts…

14 Apr

Hey, y’all!

Guess what? It’s a FOOD POST! Mostly a food post anyways.

Yesterday, I left work early to meet with our builder for our pre-drywall meeting. I skipped my snack, so by the time it was over, I was a wee little bit cranky. Hubby and I stopped by Publix on our way home to get ingredients for dinner, and I snacked on some Teddy Grahams in the store. When we got home, I prepped dinner, then talked myself into a little run. It’s amazing what a little guilt can do to my motivation. I wasn’t planning on running, but the Teddy Grahams gave me enough of a sugar boost to put me in the mood. I decided to keep it short and simple: 2 miles.

But they were a GREAT 2 miles:  10:40 and 10:13 respectively!  I think my feeble attempts at speedwork are actually paying off 😉

Time for FOOD.

I made “Chicken” Pot Pie last night.  I chopped up 4 of these Gardein Chick’n Scallopini breasts:

I threw them in a casserole dish with a bag of Steamfresh Veggies and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup.  Next time, I’m going to use 1 can of soup and some stock instead, as two cans made it a little too thick.   I took a refrigerated pie crust, and cut it into slices.  Using about 2/3 of the crust, I did a basket-weave pattern on top of my casserole.  Then I threw it in the oven at 450* until the pie crust was slightly brown:

And I threw it in a bowl all mixed up to eat:

The Gardein Chick’n was really good!  It had great flavor and texture, and my Mother-in-law didn’t know it wasn’t real chicken until I told her 🙂

Oh, and we had some cheap red wine (is there any other kind?!):

Ah.  What a good evening.

Because Kate and I have a lunch of epic proportions planned for today, I knew breakfast had to be light.  I brought a cup of yogurt, and I found this granola sample from a race packet in my desk:

And I mixed it all up…

(Side note: Anyone know how to rotate photos in WordPress?)

And YUM!  The granola was reduced sugar, and it had seeds and craisins in it.  Fab!

Don’t worry, that lunch I mentioned earlier?  I’ll be posting about it…. and I will totally lose any and all Food Blogger credibility I may have earned.  BUT IT WILL BE SO WORTH IT!

Any guesses on what I’m having for lunch?!