Yes, I Still Do Food Posts…

14 Apr

Hey, y’all!

Guess what? It’s a FOOD POST! Mostly a food post anyways.

Yesterday, I left work early to meet with our builder for our pre-drywall meeting. I skipped my snack, so by the time it was over, I was a wee little bit cranky. Hubby and I stopped by Publix on our way home to get ingredients for dinner, and I snacked on some Teddy Grahams in the store. When we got home, I prepped dinner, then talked myself into a little run. It’s amazing what a little guilt can do to my motivation. I wasn’t planning on running, but the Teddy Grahams gave me enough of a sugar boost to put me in the mood. I decided to keep it short and simple: 2 miles.

But they were a GREAT 2 miles:  10:40 and 10:13 respectively!  I think my feeble attempts at speedwork are actually paying off 😉

Time for FOOD.

I made “Chicken” Pot Pie last night.  I chopped up 4 of these Gardein Chick’n Scallopini breasts:

I threw them in a casserole dish with a bag of Steamfresh Veggies and 2 cans of cream of chicken soup.  Next time, I’m going to use 1 can of soup and some stock instead, as two cans made it a little too thick.   I took a refrigerated pie crust, and cut it into slices.  Using about 2/3 of the crust, I did a basket-weave pattern on top of my casserole.  Then I threw it in the oven at 450* until the pie crust was slightly brown:

And I threw it in a bowl all mixed up to eat:

The Gardein Chick’n was really good!  It had great flavor and texture, and my Mother-in-law didn’t know it wasn’t real chicken until I told her 🙂

Oh, and we had some cheap red wine (is there any other kind?!):

Ah.  What a good evening.

Because Kate and I have a lunch of epic proportions planned for today, I knew breakfast had to be light.  I brought a cup of yogurt, and I found this granola sample from a race packet in my desk:

And I mixed it all up…

(Side note: Anyone know how to rotate photos in WordPress?)

And YUM!  The granola was reduced sugar, and it had seeds and craisins in it.  Fab!

Don’t worry, that lunch I mentioned earlier?  I’ll be posting about it…. and I will totally lose any and all Food Blogger credibility I may have earned.  BUT IT WILL BE SO WORTH IT!

Any guesses on what I’m having for lunch?!

2 Responses to “Yes, I Still Do Food Posts…”

  1. Mungee's Ma April 14, 2010 at 9:57 am #

    Chinese buffet? Yum!

Leave a Reply

