Somebody Take My “Food Blogger” Card…

14 Apr

‘Cause I just had a KFC Double Down.

Well, half anyways.  And half an order of potato wedges.

And holy mother, it was GOOD.  Judge all you want, but it was so juicy and delicious.  Am I going to eat one ever again?  Probably not, but I just had to try it.

I’m a firm believer in moderated splurges. Without moderated splurges, we all inevitably end up binging unnecessarily.

Whats your most ridiculous splurge ever?

22 Responses to “Somebody Take My “Food Blogger” Card…”

  1. Leah April 14, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    I love that you tried it. haha. šŸ™‚
    I splurge typically on desserts- ice cream, cake, chocolate, cheesecake, etc.

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 7:39 am #

      That’s because dessert is awesome…

  2. Heidi April 14, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    Oiy, I’ve been eyeing up the commercials for the double down!

    My best (worst?) splurge was after a 5K that had some sort of importance (so significant I can’t remember it). Two friends and I stopped at Taco Johns, Culvers, and KFC for our lunch. We got potatoe oles, ice cream, and fried chicken. It was amazing, but we spent the rest of the afternoon laying on the couch hating ourselves for it — so worth it!

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 7:37 am #

      That’s totally a “best”! I love that you stopped at 3 different places šŸ™‚

      • Lilly April 15, 2010 at 3:02 pm #

        I just find it ridiculous that you posted this on a healthy blog site. I don’t care that you splurged, it’s the point that KFC sells this shit and this is why America is so fat. Make me sick!

      • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

        Lilly,

        I’m glad you find my post ridiculous. And I’m sorry you felt the need to delete your comment, but I’m still going to respond. I knew it would stir up controversy, but I believe in being absolutely, 100% honest with my readers. If I want an unhealthy meal, I’m going to have an unhealthy meal.

        The problem with Americans isn’t the Double Down. Is it loaded with calories? Yes. But go take a look at the nutritional information for the Olive Garden or Cheesecake Factory. The Double Down would be on their “light” menu. Point your finger at KFC and all the other fast food restaurants if you must, but those really aren’t the problem. KFC isn’t pretending to be healthy with this thing. I mean, hell, there are sandwiches at Panera that are worse for you than the Double Down. Why do I bring this up? Most Americans would automatically assume anything they get at Panera would be healthier than at KFC. This nutritional confusion is the issue.

        I wasn’t saying this was going to be my new daily lunch. I was merely stating that splurges are healthy. Binges are not.

      • Leah April 15, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

        I completely agree with you.
        People often forget how many calories eating out in general can be. Not that there aren’t healthy options or that you shouldn’t eat out EVER.
        But fast food is not the only unhealthy culprit.
        In my honest (non-nutrition expert) opinion, I think portions are a bigger cause to obesity than WHAT you eat. Which is why I will always support a “cheat” day every now & then where you splurge on something. It doesn’t have to be a big deal. But when we eat TOO much of anything ALL the time… it’s not good.
        A medium french fry isn’t going to add 100 lbs to your waist. Just like half a double-down isn’t going to make you go up 2 sizes. But eating them everyday or eating 2 or 3 of each…. then maybe there’s a problem.

  3. Jane April 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    You’ve got to be kidding, right?!

  4. shelby April 14, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    I’m glad it was good! I think it looks tasty. Fried chicken, bacon and cheese…I enjoy all of these things so why would they not be delicious together??

    Splurge, hmm. I can think of an indicent at an all-you-can-eat-and-drink sushi event that left me literally having to walk around with my pants unbuttoned for the rest of the night. Hotness.

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      Exactly. Bacon, cheese and fried chicken are three of my favorite foods. And I ate HALF. Not a huge deal. But seriously? Worth every bite.

  5. Leah April 14, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    New Years before last, I ate half a full size bag of Cooler Ranch Doritos… after putting away ~$30 worth of Chinese take-out.

    Yep.

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 7:38 am #

      Chips are the ultimate mindless eating food… And Chinese? You can gorge on it and still be hungry an hour later. What is with that?

  6. Ashley April 15, 2010 at 7:17 am #

    There is no way I could eat that thing. It looks like a heart attack waiting to happen.

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 7:39 am #

      Yes, you could. I promise. And you would love it.

      • Ashley April 15, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

        I’m sure I probably would. Anything with bacon is yum.

  7. ash April 15, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    I don’t see why it’s getting so much flack, it’s got less calories than Big Mac’s and Whoppers. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Splurges are necessary, as you said, to keep us from bingeing and getting out of control.
    My biggest splurge was having 2 Guinesses and 2 Desserts as a meal last year on my birthday (I had chocolate cake with ice cream and new york cheesecake with strawberry puree). So worth it.

  8. Jenny April 15, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    KFC isn’t bringing the Double Down to Canada….but if they did I would have been the first in line to try it….

  9. balanceformere April 15, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    Haha! You still have your card. What did you think of the sandwich? I was perplexed by it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wednesday Guilty Pleasures « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - April 15, 2010

    […] Posted on April 15, 2010 by mrsdevonk I must say, I loved reading everyone’s ridiculous splurges!Ā  Good to know I’m not […]

  2. Sunshine on a cloudy day « eat, drink, run - April 16, 2010

    […] that craving.Ā  Devon at Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat said it far more eloquently the other day in her post about the infamous KFC Double Down.Ā  Splurges are good once in a […]

Leave a Reply

