Coupon Organization

14 Apr

For months now, I’ve had all my coupons held together with a paper clip.  Ghetto and inefficient.  Time after time, I found myself in the corner of a grocery aisle attempting to flip through them and find all the ones I needed to use.  More than once, they all ended up on the floor.

Tuesday night, when I couldn’t find one at Publix, I finally lost it.  I had to find some way to efficiently organize all my coupons.

So what did I do?  I went to Target of course.  I knew I needed something where I could see every individual coupon.  I hate the normal mini-file folder coupon organizers.  They leave me frustrated and annoyed.  I also knew I needed something small enough to carry around in my purse at all times because, well, I never know when I’m going to pop by the store on the way home from work.

I bought a little binder and some inserts for it.  First, a note pad to write my grocery list (and whatever else I need to write down):

And a way to see every single coupon:

I picked up sheets of business card organizers and placed the coupons in them to be seen from both sides.  All of them are organized by grocery section, of course. The sections I used are:

  • Frozen
  • Refrigerated (cheese, Jell-o, Coffee Creamer, etc)
  • Grains (Bread, Pasta, Rice, etc)
  • Baking Aisle (frosting, baking mixes, and Coffee – cause it’s on the same aisle)
  • Snacks (nuts, chips, granola bars, pretzels, etc)
  • Wine
  • And everything else

And I needed a place to put all of my “bulk” coupons:

I have a tendency to clip every single yogurt and razor coupon I see.  Instead of putting those individually (because it would take up multiple sheets), I just put them in sheet-sized pockets.

If you’re a couponer, how do you organize your coupons?  Am I being overly anal-retentive?

I’ll let you know in a week or so how well this new system works 🙂

10 Responses to “Coupon Organization”

  1. Allison (Eat Clean Live Green) April 14, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    This is really impressive 🙂 I wish I was more thorough about coupon cutting…

  2. Ashley April 14, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Looks great!

  3. Ashley April 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    That’s awesome! My fiance and I were just talking about how we need to organize coupons (they are currently not organized at all). Don’t they slide around in the little sleeves?

    • mrsdevonk April 14, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

      The pockets have some static cling so they don’t really move!

  4. Melanie April 14, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    This gives me motivation to start using coupons. I never have because it seemed so overwhelming. I may need to get the Sunday paper this week.

    • mrsdevonk April 14, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

      Orrrrrr you could just go to ppgazette.com 🙂

  5. Nicole April 14, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog 🙂

    I’ve seen a few people (bloggers) get organized with coupons lately, and I’m, tempted to get on board. My only issue with coupons is it typically tempts me into buy things we either don’t need, don’t need yet, or don’t have room to store. I’m all for savings, though…and coupons have killer deals! Great post!

  6. Leah April 14, 2010 at 7:01 pm #

    Gah! I LOVE your organizer! 🙂
    I definitely need to get more organized with my coupon clippings.

  7. Sonja April 15, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    I’m pretty impressed. I would have never thought about that.

    I use a pretty little coupon holder that I’m sure my grandmother still uses haha I’m always searching for things I need and then end up giving up and not even using a coupon.

    I never thought to think outside of the box for this haha

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 8:09 am #

      I asked some ladies on the Nest how they organize theirs.. and they said they use binders with baseball card holders. While I like the idea, I knew it was too big to tote around in my purse. Then I saw all this cute stuff at Target.

      And we all know how good I am at resisting cute stuff at Target 😉

Leave a Reply

