Archive | 2:20 pm

The Importance of Good Shoes (and other goodies)

13 Oct

Here’s a great link to do an at-home shoe test:
http://www.best-running-tips.com/running-shoes.html

Before I switched to my Brooks shoes (that I ADORE), I had knee problems and IT band friction issues. Running HURT. I could barely run a mile without pain. Running in pain makes running a CHORE, not a pleasure. Thankfully, a veteran runner friend suggested I visit my local running store and get fitted. I did, bought some shoes, and my running has VASTLY improved since then.

And for my next trick…..
http://guenergy.myshopify.com/products/gu-energy-gel-mint-chocolate

I can’t wait to order them and try them for the longer runs! I start training for the 15k in January! I’ll be using Hal Higdon’s 15k Novice training plan. I’m really excited about it, and I’ve heard a lot of good things about all of his programs. Woo hoo!

The Weekend Lazy-Ass Report

13 Oct

I was a lazy ass this weekend.

Friday? I did nothing. Saturday? No gym, just walking around Universal Studios all evening. Sunday? I trudged through 1.75 miles, then had to stop and use the ladies room, then finished my last half-mile. I topped it off with some upper body strength training and a few miller lites.

Tonight: We’ll see how I feel.
Tomorrow: Zumba
Wednesday: C25k W7D1