Getting Back On The Horse

10 May

Happy Monday! Starting the work week is always so hard, and I find it so easy to blow off Monday workout.  Since I haven’t ran in over a week, I was itching to spend some quality time with the pavement and my Garmin today.

I’m not going to lie: it was a struggle.  I eked out 2 miles in 23:00.  Not terrible, but it wasn’t exactly breezy.  Who knew that 2 miles could be so hard after only a week off?  Remind me never to do that again.

With that in mind, here’s some tips for getting back on the horse (aka your workout routine):

  • Create a new playlist – downloading new, fun tracks and incorporating some good ‘ol stand-bys is always a good way to get me excited about a workout
  • Enlist a friend – it’s a lot harder to give up or blow it off if you have someone keeping you accountable, so make it a date!
  • Take it easy – don’t set yourself up for failure.  After a break, your fitness levels aren’t going to be quite as high as they were pre-break, so maybe set your sights a little lower.  For instance, I only ran 2 easy miles tonight instead of the 3-4 I normally run after work.

Alright, since it’s bed time and my camera is downstairs, I leave you with this:

Rotten little wiener dog 😉

4 Responses to “Getting Back On The Horse”

  1. Lisa May 10, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Getting a workout out of the way on Mondays always make me feel better. I usually don’t want to because Mondays are brutal but if I do I feel sooo much better.

  2. Ali @ Redhead Reports May 11, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Haha, I love the weiner dog!!

  3. Dawn Hutchins May 11, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Great advice!

  4. balanceformere May 11, 2010 at 7:59 pm #

    Great post! It is much easier to maintain when the momentum is there but more difficult to restart. I am in the restart phase.

Leave a Reply

