Cinco de Drinko

5 May

Happy Cinco de Mayo, y’all!

Hope everyone is having a wonderful (and responsible!) Cinco de Mayo 🙂

I started my day off with a croissant, almond butter and a banana:

I didn’t sleep much last night because of the dogs.  They both have intestinal bacterial infections.  I had to dip out of work early to take them to the vet 😦  They seem to be feeling much better today though!

Due to being busy with the dogs, I completely forgot about packing lunch.  I considered going to McDonalds or Chick-Fil-A and getting a burger or chicken sandwich and a side salad, but I settled for Subway instead.  I got my usual ham & turkey on 9-grain honey oat with provolone, lettuce and a little bit of spinach:

And some Sun Chips on the side:

I’m really bummed that Subway quit carrying carrots on their menu.  I always loved the hint of crispy sweetness that carrots added to my sandwich.

When I got home from work, I decided to end my lazy-streak and go for a run.

And I failed.

I got half a mile into my run and absolutely could not take it.  I was attacked by bugs the other evening and I currently have 33 bites on my thighs:

With every step, the itching got worse and worse.  Absolutely miserable.  I was really bummed that I had to give up, but I was about to drop on the ground and rub my body all over the pavement to scratch.  Not good.

Since it is Cinco de Mayo, we’re celebrating with my vegetarian enchilada casserole:

And margaritas of course:

And now?  I feel like I could pass out.

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

6 Responses to “Cinco de Drinko”

  1. Leah May 6, 2010 at 8:38 am #

    I hope your puppies & your bug bites get better soon! xoxo

  2. Ali @ Redhead Reports May 6, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Wow, sorry about all those bug bites, that sucks! Good decision on ending your run – imagine how many bits you’d have if you’d been out there any longer!

  3. The Beso Team May 6, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Dear Devon,

    Thank You for entering the Bake Up Summer Sweets Contest. I hope you are given the opportunity to own a new KitchenAid mixer so you can whip up your carrot cake recipe with ease.
    Thank You and Good Luck!
    The Beso Team
    Beso.com

  4. angelalovesfood May 7, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    yikes. You have 33 bug bites?!!! I have just one on my triceps and it sucks! ha

  5. Ashley May 8, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    OMG, your bites look terrible. 😦 I went to a ghetto subway and was not at all impressed … my first jax subway excursion = fail

    • mrsdevonk May 8, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

      Yeah.. Subway can be really hit or miss here… I have 3 within 10 minutes of my office, and I refuse to go to one of them. Its skeevy and they suck.

Leave a Reply

