Crack Bagel

29 Apr

I hate my job sometimes.

I really do…

…Especially when marketing reps come into the office toting goodies from Panera, Dunkin’ Donuts or the like.  I hate it even more when my own co-workers turn against me and suggest we get our own goods.  I try and try to resist, and lately I’ve been so strong.  In the past month, I’ve turned down: baked French toast, various fruit cobblers, donuts, take-out from our favorite greasy spoon, Chinese food, and a pancake casserole.  But today?  I just didn’t have the strength or willpower to refuse.  I could hear the Panera Asiago Cheese bagel singing my name in a sweet little harmony.

Oh, sweet baby Jesus, it was worth it.

For lunch, I had some of last night’s leftovers:

This Chicken-Broccoli-Cheese-Rice-Curry-Everything-but-the-Kitchen-Sink-Casserole is a recipe from my friend Kate that she always raves about and brings to work for lunch at least once a week.  I had a minor freak out when I put it in the oven and realized I forgot the fat-free mayo.  I had intended to replace the mayo with greek yogurt, mostly because I abhor mayo.  In my post-gym hunger-stricken insanity, I forgot one of the main ingredients.

Side note: I have a hatred for most condiments actually (weird, I know).  When I see mayonnaise, to me, it looks like what would come out of my ass if I had liposuction.  Disgusting huh?  And now you know why I don’t like mayo.

Back to the recipe.  Upon realization that I’d forgotten this crucial ingredient, I paced the kitchen frantically.  I texted Kate to see if the casserole was going to suck.  Sadly, she thought so.  I apologized to Brandon profusely in advance for my sub-par dinner, and I insisted my feelings would not be hurt if he didn’t eat it.  I even offered to make him a sandwich instead.

Lo and behold, it didn’t suck.  It was actually pretty good!  So good that we barely had enough leftovers for us to bring for lunch today.

Last night I hit the gym for some strength training punishment.  I did the same routine as last time, and I’m planning on doing it again Sunday.  If I can get in 4 days of running and 2 days of lifting a week, I consider it to be a massive success.  Lately, I’ve been doing great with the running, and per usual, struggling to fit in the strength.

How many times a week and what types of workouts do you have include to feel as though you’ve had a successful workout week?

6 Responses to “Crack Bagel”

  1. Tara April 30, 2010 at 6:49 am #

    Seriously, Devon, I like mayo. And if I think of it coming out of your ass next time I make a turkey sandwich, I’m gonna be pissed.

    • mrsdevonk May 1, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

      Hahahaha!!!!! That’s hilarious 🙂

  2. Dawn Hutchins April 30, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    Asiago Panera bagles are hard to pass up. As well as, for me, the cinnamon crunch.

    Hmm..good workout week for me is at least getting in something each day. I try to get a good variety, cardio, strength training and power yoga.

    • mrsdevonk May 1, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

      I went to Hurricane Wings today and thought of you! It was sooooo good.

  3. Hope @ Hope's Journey April 30, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    I know what you mean with the reps..It’s SO hard to resist some of the goodies they bring in sometimes. I have the MOST trouble with the cinnamon crunch bagels. OMGYUM.

    Oh, and LOL at mayo..haha.

    Have a great weekend!

    Hope (I found you on Ash’s blog) 🙂

  4. blndsnbrdr May 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    Mmmm…Asiago bagels are the best! I love them.

    Try working at Panera with free bagels….I don’t even want to think about the calories I consumed while working there! YUM!

Leave a Reply

