UNF Nature Trails

24 Apr

It is a BEAUTIFUL Saturday! We’ve been spoiled with so many beautiful weekends in North Florida lately.  Its fantastic, and I wish it was like this all year long!  Okay, 11 months of the year.  I’d like a month of cold 😉

Thanks to Twitter, I made a running date with Lauren for this morning.  I’ve been dying to hit the UNF nature trails, but I’m paranoid to run in strange places by myself.  You always hear about runners getting killed on trails, so I’m a Paranoid Polly!  I know, I probably need to quit watching so much Law & Order SVU.  Whatevs.

To fuel my run, I ate peanut butter toast, a Fuji apple (my favorite kind!), a big glass of OJ:

Then I drove the 15 minutes to the UNF campus and parked at the nature trails:

Lauren showed up a few minutes later, and we agreed to try 5/1 intervals.  I’ve been really considering switching to the Galloway method for my long runs.  I feel like running straight through is so hard on my body, and this run only further supported that thought.  The trail was beautiful and nicely shaded, but it was a little muggy outside.  We did two loops for about 4.21 miles in 54:40.  We could’ve gone faster, but sadly, my stomach decided to wage war against me.

I’m so excited for the rest of the weekend.  We’re having a couples dinner at La Nopalera tonight, and a big girlfriend brunch/mimosa-fest at Billy’s tomorrow morning.  Can’t wait!

11 Responses to “UNF Nature Trails”

  1. balanceformere April 24, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    I so need a girl’s weekend. Those are the best weekends! Have fun! Too bad your stomach interrupted your trail run.

  2. shelby April 24, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    Shady trails sound like a wonderful place to run! Have fun at brunch tomorrow…I will be swilling mimosas with some girlfriends tomorrow too 🙂

  3. Ashley April 25, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    La Nolapera is my FAVORITE place! We have trouble going to any restaurant that is not it. The one in OP is my fave, but we also had good look at the Beaches one, too.

  4. blndsnbrdr April 25, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    I love trail running! I swear it makes the run so much more fun! And I second you on being s Paranoid Polly, especially since my husband expressed concern too! Better safe than sorry!

  5. Tara April 25, 2010 at 3:57 pm #

    1. I’m just as paranoid when it comes to stuff like that.
    2. La Nop is the best!
    3. Had fun today and it was great to finally “meet” you!

    • mrsdevonk April 28, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      It was good to meet you too!

  6. SueMac April 26, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    We usually run a mile, walk a minute on long runs…… it’s what gets me through!

    • mrsdevonk April 28, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      I’m really liking intervals.. I definitely think I’m going to do them on long runs from now on!

  7. Lulu April 26, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Hey I saw that you are having issues with acne. I’m 24 and was experiencing it, too. Nothing really bad, but enough to upset me (I’m sure you know how it feels to wake up and see another new one!). So I tried antibiotics, differin, retin-a, etc., etc. I am FINALLY not getting them anymore… there are two things I am doing so I’m not sure which one is the thing that is truly helping or if it’s both… I started taking birth control and I started using Proactiv. Not to sound like a stupid commercial, but I really think that it’s the Proactiv. The thing that surprised me (I didn’t think it would work) is that it just has normal ingredients that I have tried before (benzyol peroxide). Anyway, it’s worth a try. My mom said that my skin got better because I am less stressed than I use to be, but I think that just might be mom-talk! Good luck with it.

    • mrsdevonk April 28, 2010 at 11:18 am #

      I tried Proactiv, but it made my face so much worse! It was awful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Power of (Glee and) Madonna « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - April 28, 2010

    […] also had an awesome trail run over the weekend (and have another one planned for this […]

Leave a Reply

