The Longest (2) Mile(s)

21 Apr

My run tonight was brutal.

Now that I’m back from my strength training hiatus, I forgot how hard it is to run when you’re stiff and sore from a good lifting session. I plodded along for 2 miles (24:01 – 12:30/11:31) and every step was a reminder of my hard work yesterday.  As soon as I got home, I grabbed my foam roller for relief:

I rolled my quads, my hamstrings, my calves, and my IT bands.  Oh, sweet, painful relief.

At least my day started out nicely:

I scooped out the second to last tablespoon of almond butter, and we all know what that means:  Oats in a Jar tomorrow!  Woo hoo!  If that’s not reason enough to get up and go to work (cause my oatmeal and almond butter are in my desk) then I don’t know what is!

Even though it’s warmer outside, I wanted soup for some reason at lunch:

I tend to avoid soup in warmer months.  Shocking, I know. I can’t imagine I’m the only person who does that 😉 But I always love a good beef and barley soup. With it, I had a cheddar biscuit from Red Lobster.  A dozen of them showed up in the office kitchen during lunch and I could not resist.  I haven’t eaten at a Red Lobster in probably 15 years, but goodness, those biscuits are GOOD!

After our run, I came home and made my Mom’s Red Beans & Rice and Cornbread Casserole:

While I’ve promised not to share the Red Beans & Rice recipe, I can share the Cornbread Casserole recipe:

  • 1 Box Jiffy Cornbread Mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1 can of corn
  • 1/3 c. milk
  • 2 packets of Splenda
  • 1/2 c. sour cream

Mix it all up, spread it in a 8×8 or 9×9 pan, and bake in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes.  Enjoy!

5 Responses to “The Longest (2) Mile(s)”

  1. Leah April 22, 2010 at 7:50 am #

    Hope you’re feeling less stiff & sore today! My lower body is definitely reminding me of my legs & back workout a couple days ago.
    & I typically avoid soup when it’s warm too, but every once in a while it’s the only thing I crave no matter what the temp is. I just don’t go eating it outside. 😉 haha.

  2. Dawn Hutchins April 22, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    Oats in a jar IS so yummy. I just did it myself for the first time recently using an empty nutella jar. That’s the end of that though as the jar seemed to empty a bit too fast.

  3. Leah Gibson April 22, 2010 at 1:08 pm #

    does your cornbread have actual corn in it too? It looks kind of like it in the picture.

    • mrsdevonk April 22, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      Errrr… Yes, it does. Need to fix the recipe!

  4. balanceformere April 22, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Rough runs stink but like life you have to experience horrible ones to enjoy the great ones. I am loving that cornbread recipe.

Leave a Reply

