Alfresco

17 Apr

Ah, Saturday morning.

I feel quite refreshed because I slept in today (well, til 8:30, whatever).  Sometime right after college, I completely and totally lost any ability to sleep til noon on the weekends.  I think it’s because I’m not staying out all night boozing it up at bars with friends anymore 😉  Call me crazy, but I think I’m on to something!

Since I was trying to keep it light yesterday, I had some leftover snow peas and vegetable noodle soup for lunch:

And then there was dinner.  Oh, dinner.  How I loved you.

We went to one of our favorite places, The Grape.  Every time I go to the Grape, I have excellent food, excellent service, and even better wine.  It’s fantastic!  We snagged a table outside and had a blast people-watching.  Right now in Florida, its that perfect time of year where you’re comfortable outside in jeans and a t-shirt.  Not sweating.  Not cold.  Its great.  I love this time of year.

The hummus appetizer we ordered:

My glass of wine, of course:

And the piece de la resistance, the Steak & Bleu Flatbread:

I was so excited, I got started removing some of the argula and taking a bite before I remembered to take a picture.  But AT LEAST I REMEMBERED!  I’ve gotten much better about taking photos of my food 😉

All and all, it was a glorious evening and Hubby and I did a lot of giggling.  I am a lucky woman!

I thought about taking a picture of myself this morning, and promptly changed my mind when I opened the webcam.  I look like a hotmess!  Apparently, I didn’t do a very good job removing my eye makeup last night.  Whoops!  I’m usually really good about it, but last night?  I don’t know what happened!  I washed my face with Cetaphil like usual, then I put on my Differin.  Brushed, flossed, took out the contacts, and hit the sheets.  Maybe I should’ve used a little eye makeup remover.  What’s your nightly pre-bed beauty routine?  What are your favorite products?

I think I’ll be heading to the beach for a run!  Well, after breakfast anyways.  Have a great Saturday!

7 Responses to “Alfresco”

  1. Ashley April 17, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    To be honest, I don’t have a pre-bed routine. I’ve been thinking about starting one, though!

    You are totally my Jax restaurant source. Now we have to try Grape, too!

    • mrsdevonk April 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      The Grape is AWESOME! I think Dawn & Ashlee were talking about meeting there one night… We should bring that back up!

  2. shelby April 17, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    This sounds really bad, but I don’t usually wash my face before bed. Unless I am wearing a ton of makeup (rare). My skin has a tendency to get really dry and it just seems to work better if I only wash once a day – which I do, in the shower, with Fresh Soy Face Wash (love this stuff!)

    Your dinner (and wine) look awesome!

    • mrsdevonk April 18, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

      Hey, whatever works for you! I don’t always wash my face before bed.. usually 5 out of 7 nights. I’m lazy.

  3. balanceformere April 17, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    I am so jealous that you get to run on the beach!

    • mrsdevonk April 18, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

      So… come visit Ash & I? Hmm?

  4. Dawn Hutchins April 19, 2010 at 8:27 am #

    That flatbread looks SO amazing. I hope we can get the girls together and head over there…dying to try that and the hummus too! (and of course the wine)

Leave a Reply

