I Should Buy Stock In Boca

16 Apr

Happy Friday!

I’ve been having a hankering for Mexican lately. There’s this fantastic place in Jax Beach called El Potro, but we all know how fattening Mexican can be.  So I bring you my Vegetarian “Beef” Layered Enchiladas:

  • 1 bag Soy Burger Crumbles
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • Corn tortillas
  • 1 cup Fat Free Mozzarella
  • 1 packet taco seasoning

I suggest using tortillas a hair smaller than a round casserole dish.  This way, the cheese and sauce can drip down the sides.

“Brown” your soy crumbles and follow directions on taco seasoning packet.

Spray a round casserole dish with cooking spray.  Place tortilla on bottom of the dish.  Spread a layer of your taco meat over tortilla.  Place another tortilla on top.  Pour some enchilada sauce on tortilla.  Repeat until you run out of meat/tortillas.  Pour remaining sauce on top of everything.  Spread Mozzarella all over top.  Place in oven at 450 for 20-25 minutes (or until sides are bubbling).

Enjoy!

I ate leftover enchiladas for lunch yesterday, and they were kickin’.  Since I was in Hungry Hungry Hippo mode yesterday, I had a snack plate a little while later:

My plate consisted of fat-free cottage cheese, baby carrots, and roasted red pepper hummus.  It gave me enough fuel to go on a (slightly) longer run last night.

Typically, I run 3 miles after work.  On a few occasions, I’ve gone further, but it just seems so difficult to run anything more than 3 after work.  I know I can do it, and I really just need to stop being a weenie.  My new goal is to get to the point where running 5 miles after work doesn’t seem like such a daunting task.

Last night, I headed out for the “Big Loop” around the neighborhood.  Its about 4 miles, with plenty of options to make it longer.  I ran a solid 3.5 miles in 41:00.  Not too shabby, especially considering I felt a little pukey half-way through the run.  I finished it off with a .75 mile cool down walk.

Needless to say, my run left me STARVING.  Let me just start by saying that my husband has strange taste in food.  He LIKES Hamburger Helper.  He specifically asked me to buy it last time we went to the grocery store.

I, on the other hand, am not a fan.  Typically, it is entirely too salty for my taste.  But, whatever.  I gave in on one condition:  I get to make it vegetarian.

Boca Soy Crumbles to the rescue! Side note: I really should buy stock in Boca.

And because I’m back on the “Eat-As-Many-Fruits-And-Veggies-As-Possible” train, I steamed up some sugar snap peas.  All in all, it wasn’t that bad.  Still a little salty, but not as bad as it is with ground beef.

Since it’s Friday, we’ll probably go out to dinner tonight.  With that in mind, I had some vanilla yogurt with chopped pecans and coconut flakes mixed in and a banana for breakfast:

Confession:  on days when I know I’m going to be having a naughty dinner, I definitely try to be a lot lighter with my meals beforehand.  Call it what you will, but it helps my sanity.

Do you have an coping mechanisms for “naughty” meals?

5 Responses to “I Should Buy Stock In Boca”

  1. Leah April 16, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Like you, I definitely watch what I eat that morning or the day after. My mind is able to rationalize a cheat meal or day that way. lol. Even if it’s not true. 😉

    Eating out sounds great though… I may have to convince the boy… I’m not sure if I’m in the mood for cooking tonight.

  2. Ashley April 16, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    I do the same thing, “saving up” for splurges. I love your enchilada idea! I might try ground turkey instead of soy crumbles, though. Soy’s link to breast cancer makes me nervous!

    • mrsdevonk April 16, 2010 at 4:10 pm #

      I’m kind of on the whole “studies show everything gives you cancer” train. Obviously, I don’t smoke, but pretty much every food there’s been studies that it gives one kind of cancer while preventing another. Its insane.

  3. Dawn Hutchins April 16, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    Your enchiladas look SO good. I should try boca again. I’ve been all about tempeh lately. Awesome job with your runs after work! I’ve been trying to get either P90X abs or a 40 minute walk in after work aside from working out on my lunch breaks.

    • mrsdevonk April 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

      My enchiladas were SO good 🙂

      P90x abs is a BITCH! Tony Horton’s crazy eyes freak me out!

Leave a Reply

