Wednesday Guilty Pleasures

15 Apr

I must say, I loved reading everyone’s ridiculous splurges!  Good to know I’m not alone.

Yesterday when I got home from work, I walked in the mess known as our bedroom.  It was covered in clothes that needed to be hung up or put in the laundry basket.  We’ve been ridiculous lazy about putting up clothes lately.  I even sat the Hubs down and told him we need to cut it out.  But before I tackled the daunting task, I munched on some homemade banana bread:

And since hanging up mass quantities of clothes is tiring, I was too lazy to cook a real dinner.  Okay, that’s sort of a lie, but I knew the Hubs wouldn’t be home til later than usual.  And he wanted pizza.  And I gave in to him:

At least the big ol’ salad I had on the side made up for it.  Yes, I justify my choices.  Don’t pretend like you don’t.

We spent the rest of the evening sippin’ on red wine and watching Modern Family & Cougartown.  They’re my Wednesday night guilty pleasures.  Even the Hubs loves them too.

I’m going back to eating as many fruits and veggies as I can every day.  I feel so much better when I take that approach to eating.  Step 1: Breakfast.  Today, I enjoyed:

  • 1/4 c. old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 small banana sliced
  • 1 tbsp almond butter

Yum!  I got really excited when I realized that I’m almost to the end of my almond butter jar.  Oats in a Jar soon!  It’s the little things 😉

I just want to take a moment to acknowledge the end of one of my favorite fitness blogs, Ash Is Fit.  Ashlee and I have discussed the pressure associated with being a food/fitness blogger on multiple occasions, and I completely understand and support her reasoning behind her decision.  I, too, struggle to come up with content at times.  Sometimes, I wonder what I get out of this.  Other times, I get jealous of other bloggers.  I think we all do.  Would I love to quit my job and blog full-time?  Hell yes.

But I stop to remind myself: As bloggers, we tend to show the “best” sides of our lives and I think the bad parts get left out a significant portion of the time. We don’t see the bland, boring things in each others’ lives.

But at the end of the day, I do this because I enjoy writing.  If I can’t come up with anything to write about, then I don’t post.  I enjoy the interaction.  I’ve made some great friends through the blogging community.  I’ve been given support when I needed it, and been there to support others’ in their journeys as well.  That is why I do what I do.

3 Responses to “Wednesday Guilty Pleasures”

  1. Sonja April 15, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I’m sad to see her go but glad that she’ll be keeping up with her food blog!

    Also, where did you find the creamy almond butter? (I’m assuming it’s creamy? lol) I bought some fresh crunchy almond butter last weekend at Whole Foods but really really don’t like the consistency.

    • mrsdevonk April 15, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

      It’s Blue Diamond Brand Creamy Almond Butter with Honey. It’s from Whole Foods and its HEAVENLY!

  2. Tara April 16, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    I think I NEED to try “Oats in a Jar” 🙂 I have an almond allergy, but I would imagine it’ll still taste great with regular PB. What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

