Slipper Day

30 Mar

Thankfully, I work in a pretty fun office. We’re a fairly silly group of people, and we declared this week “Make Work Fun!” week. Today was slipper day:

Seriously, how can you have a bad day when you’re wearing slippers at work? (Okay, you actually can, because I did, but that’s besides the point. I bounced back quickly though).

I realize I haven’t really been posting my eats lately, and I’m trying to get better about it. I did remember to take a picture of lunch today. Its my new favorite – a baked potato with broccoli and cheese on it:

So good and so filling!

Yesterday after work, we went to go see the house. The framing is up now! It’s crazy how fast its being built. Needless to say, it was also my rest day. On Sunday, I attempted speed work for the first time in months.

It went a little something like this:

  • .25m @ 13:10
  • .5m @ 10:39
  • .25m @ 12:55
  • .5m @ 10:43
  • .25m @ 12:55
  • .5m @ 10:55
  • .25m @ 13:15
  • Cooldown .49 @ 17:28

I was totally wiped out when I finished.  I had a great time though, and it was really nice to shake up my usual 3 mile route. Its amazing what mixing things up will do.  Here’s 5 reasons you should mix up your routines:

  1. It prevents boredom
  2. It helps you bust through plateaus
  3. It keeps your body guessing
  4. Help prevent overuse injuries
  5. It helps you improve your abilities!

Whats your favorite way to shake up your routine?

7 Responses to “Slipper Day”

  1. balanceformere March 30, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    This sounds silly but just having some great “EATS” shakes things up. I love having a meal to look forward to.

    • mrsdevonk March 30, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

      Oh, I agree. When I get in a food rut, I get in an everything else rut!

  2. Ashley March 30, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    Your slippers are so cute!

  3. Leah March 31, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    I agree. Slippers = adorable.
    Food rut = horrible (also me right now).
    My last exercise rut I started P90X. & I almost got in a boredom rut with those workouts but next week we start phase 2 so that should help a bit.

  4. Tameka March 31, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    I heart your slippers!

  5. Erwin Drop April 11, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Keep the good information comming, we need more authors like you!

Leave a Reply

