Gate River Run 2010 Recap

13 Mar

Whew! It has been one heck of a day, and I am EXHAUSTED! Hubby and I started our day bright and early, and arrived at the race site at 7:15. We had to park about a mile away from the start. It was pretty chill out, but it warmed up start time. I was a little overwhelmed by how many people were at the race. The Gate River Run 15k had over 15,000 runners this year. So, I guess that’s why there were so many bananas:

The race started at 8:30, and I was stuck in the back because I’m not quite fast enough to be a seeded runner. Thankfully, the start was quick and I got to cross it in less than 10 minutes. Waiting for the start:

Ah, obstacle #1 – The Main Street Bridge:

I felt really confident after crossing the Main St. Bridge. I was running MUCH faster than I had planned. Best part? Chasing boys in skirts:

Sorry for the shitty picture. Taking a picture on an iPhone while trying to run is actually really hard.

The course was GORGEOUS. It ran along the St. Johns River and in some “old money” neighborhoods of Jacksonville. Pretty much every mile there were water stops and live bands playing. It was definitely a fun atmosphere. Somewhere around mile 3 I had to stop and take a picture of the beautiful sights:

I was doing awesome until around mile 6. I just got so tired. I couldn’t explain it. In order to survive, I started taking a 1-minute walk break every 4 minutes. I admit, the Hart Bridge was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be, so I ended up doing some walking up it. Approaching the top:

And with my finisher’s medal:

I finished the race in 1:53:14 according to my Garmin. I also actually went 9.50 miles instead of 9.36. I’m really pleased with my overall performance. The River Run is a great race, and despite the massive blister on my big toe, I’m looking forward to doing it again next year!

P.S. – I’ll be sure to update with my splits as soon as I feel like getting my off lazy ass and going upstairs to get my Garmin.

Splits as promised:
1 11:37
2 11:54
3 11:39
4 12:00
5 11:44
6 11:37
7 12:02
8 12:38
9 12:31
.36 3:56 (1:51:41)
.14 1:32

14 Responses to “Gate River Run 2010 Recap”

  1. Ashley March 13, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Congrats Dev! You did great!

  2. Melanie March 13, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I thought that was you in front of me when we started. I started to die at mile 6 too. Blisters all over my feet. Congrats! We should meet up one day for a run.

    • mrsdevonk March 14, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

      Ive got blisters too 😦 They’re no fun.

      Yes, we definitely need to meet up for a run!

  3. emily March 14, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    congrats! Its not weird to overrun a little according to the GPS – I find I put on 0.01-.02 per mile. Its nearly impossible to run exactly the marked race course!

    • mrsdevonk March 14, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

      Thanks!! Yeah my garmin is always over on races. Makes ya think about PRs!

  4. runeatdatesleep March 14, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    Congratulations!!! You did an awesome job!

  5. smeenkenrique March 14, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Awesome job! 😀 You rock my non-running world!

    • mrsdevonk March 15, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

      Thank you, Leah 🙂 And you rock my P90x world!

  6. Ashley March 14, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    That is awesome! I know the area you’re talking about. Way to go!!

  7. Angie March 15, 2010 at 10:21 am #

    Congrats, you did awesome!

  8. Morgan March 17, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    Great job on the race! It was a beautiful and fun course wasn’t it?!?!?

Leave a Reply

