Sometimes You Need Help

9 Mar

After months of swearing up and down that I will lose this last 10 (now 13) pounds, I am admitting defeat.  You have all watched me make false promises over the past 6 months.  Within days, I’ve abandoned my well-intended plans.  I cannot do this on my own anymore.   My motivation and accountability are completely shot and I’m doing what it takes to get my life back on track.

I joined Weight Watchers Online.


I’ve toyed with the idea in my head for about a month now.  Do I really want to spend the money?  Do I really think I’ll stick to it?  Will spending money lead to me sticking to it?  How will it effect my running?  Am I going to starve on only 20 points a day?

I’ve also made excuse after excuse.  “Living with the in-laws prevents me from meal planning.”  “Its racing season, so I have to eat a lot.”  “I’ll lost the weight when Hubby and I move into our house.”  “I’ll start tomorrow.”

I also tried to delude myself into thinking I was perfectly happy at this weight.  But I’m not.  I knew I had to change something.  If I could do this on my own, I would have by now. And that is the first of many reasons why I decided to join Weight Watchers.

I’m not going to lie, I considered plans like Nutrisystem and Jenny Craig.  But the thought of eating their crappy, pre-packaged foods did not sound appealing at all.  I knew it would be an “easy” way out, and that as soon as I quit eating their food, I’d gain the weight right back.  I need a smart, balanced approach to food.

And that’s exactly what Weight Watchers provides.  I opted for the online only plan for now.  If I feel I need it, I may start going to meetings later.  One of my co-workers is doing WW right now as well, so I’m hoping we’ll support one another.

So there it is.  I’m done with excuses, and I’m done pretending that I can do this all by myself.  I’ve spend years being Ms. Independent, and ya know what I’ve learned?  It’s okay to ask for help. I don’t have to do this by myself!

9 Responses to “Sometimes You Need Help”

  1. Leah March 9, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Go Devon! 🙂 I’ll be here to support you too, even though I’m not on WW. You can do it! 🙂

  2. BalanceforMEre March 9, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    I think you are smart asking for help! You’ll get back on track within a couple of meetings. I think sometimes just changing the environment and the system makes a difference.

    • mrsdevonk March 11, 2010 at 11:05 am #

      Thanks, Mere 🙂 And you’re right about the environment and system. I just needed a change of pace to re-focus!

  3. Melanie March 9, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I just started counting calories again today. I hate it but it makes me accountable. If I have to look at the calories or fat I am less likely to eat bad.

    Good Luck with WW.

    • mrsdevonk March 11, 2010 at 11:04 am #

      Counting calories drives me batty. WW points keeps me more balance though!

  4. Angie March 9, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    I heard this is a really good program. Best of luck!

  5. Ashley March 10, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    The points system confuses me, but I’ll look forward to your posts on the topic!

  6. Alex March 10, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    WW worked for me! I lost 32 lbs (when I was at my lowest) on the program. However, I’ve strayed a bit and gained some of it back, but I’m getting back on track.

    Good luck, you can definitely do it!

Leave a Reply

