Gate River Run Here I Come!

3 Mar

As of this afternoon, I am officially registered for the Gate River Run!

I’m not going to lie – I’m a little nervous about running this 15k that crossed two very large bridges in downtown Jacksonville.  I haven’t ran anything further than 7 miles since the half-marathon in December, nor have I done any hills.  Am I setting myself up for disaster?  Probably.  But at least I’ll have some friends with me!

Have you ever felt completely unprepared for a race? Cause I sure feel that way!

Tonight, I did drag my butt to the gym for a little circuit training.  I’m really glad I pushed through not wanting to go because I ended up having a really nice workout:

  • 5 min warm up run on the t’mill
  • 2 sets, 12 reps tricep extensions
  • 2 sets, 12 reps squats with ball against wall
  • 40 crunches on the ball
  • 2 min run on the t’mill
  • 2 sets, 12 reps push ups
  • 25 walking lunges
  • 2 sets, 12 reps twisting crunches on the bosu
  • 2 min run on the t’mill
  • 2 sets, 12 reps 30lbs upright row
  • 2 sets, 12 reps calf raises with 25lbs
  • 30 second plank
  • 25 reverse lunges
  • 50 bicycle crunches

It felt goood to pump some iron! I’m a big believer in the benefits of circuit training.  One of my biggest beefs with strength training is I don’t feel like I burn the same calories as I do during cardio, therefore I’m more likely to skip a strength workout.  Circuit training eliminates that factor because my heart rate stays elevated, and I get my cardio fix.  I’m an addict, what can I say?

7 Responses to “Gate River Run Here I Come!”

  1. ash March 4, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I often wonder the same thing with strength training, if I’m getting the calorie burn I do when I am running. I think it’s the only time I wish I had a HRM or body bugg, so I could know for sure. I think once I hit my weight loss goal though, I’ll focus more on the strength training. Have you looked into New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women? I might check it out, see what it has to say, apparently lifting really burns fat… but I don’t know…

  2. Ashley March 4, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I’m moving to Jacksonville at the end of the month — sadly not in time for this event, but I’ll be reading your blog to keep me posted on other running events in Jax!

  3. balanceformere March 4, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    I love circuit training. I fell in love with it using the 30DS. I don’t like how the equipment at my gym is separated: cardio machines here and weights all the way over there.

  4. Melanie March 4, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I thought I was prepared for the River Run until I ran tonight. Going for 7 miles Saturday so we will see how that goes. I lost 15 pounds doing circuit training at a group boot camp. I can’t wait to add it back in after the River Run.

  5. Angie March 4, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

    Best of luck!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Saturday at the Park « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - March 6, 2010

    […] morning, we’re heading downtown to run the bridges. With the River Run a week away, I need to get prepared. I know, its a little late, but its better than […]

Leave a Reply

