26.2 With Donna Recap

24 Feb

Finally, my 26.2 with Donna Marathon Relay Recap!

I apologize for the ridiculous delay on this recap. I was really sick on Monday, then last night I was entirely too preoccupied with my new iPhone. Sad, I know.

I met up with Stacey, Trish, Beth, and Maureen super early on Sunday morning. After a coffee stop, we got to the race site around 6:45 a.m. Stacey, Beth & Maureen had to rush off to their shuttles, and Trish and I wandered around and froze our asses off.

Around 9 a.m., I got on a bus to take me to my leg: Miles 15-20. The course was fantastic! It was a mostly shaded neighborhood trek through Atlantic Beach. So many people were in their drive ways to watch the race and cheer on the runners. The camaraderie was great! It was really inspiring me to run a full marathon.

Despite hacking up my lungs, I ran a new 5-mile PR according to my Garmin: 58:14! I was pretty stoked.

Honestly, I had a really hard time pacing myself due to adrenaline and my congested lungs just couldn’t keep up. I know I would’ve ran it even faster than that had I been healthy.

In the end, our relay teamΒ ran a 4:40 marathon. Awesomesauce! And we earned our medals:

For anyone considering this marathon, I highly suggest it!

4 Responses to “26.2 With Donna Recap”

  1. Laughter-Loving Stacy February 24, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    congratulations! That’s awesome! πŸ™‚

  2. Alison (joenali) February 25, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    First, you are SOOOOOOOOOOO brave to put up a picture of yourself! I could never do it! You should really think about accutane. Do you have cystic acne? If you do it’s really scarring to the skin. I started accutane in December and I haven’t had a cyst in about a month!!! My skin looks so much better already, I can’t believe it. I do have a few pimples but they are very small compared to what I had before.

    I was really concerned about the side effects with accutane. So far it really has not been that bad at all. My lips are very dry so I am constantly putting on chapstick. The inside of my nose can get very dry and it hurts. I just put some vaseline up there and it works. One other side effect I have noticed is that I can become quite sore, especially in my legs. The derm. said this was a pretty common side effect for older (I’m 32) more active patients. I just take one or two ibuprofen a day when I am feeling sore and it seems to work.

    When i went to my doctor to see how he can help my skin he said “you are too beautiful to have skin like this”. I cried! Many times I felt that things like differen gel worked but as soon as I stopped using it my acne ALWAYS came back. If this is the case for you, consider accutane. My self-esteem is already 100 times better. I still have to wear make-up, even when I work out, because I still have some very red scarring, but now instead of seeing make-up covered bumps, my skin is smoother and looks more even. I hope the scarring eventually goes away. I am also considering some sort of skin smoothing treatment after I am done, like micro-dermabrasion.

    Again, you are so brave for posting your pics, I could never do that! Your skin does look much improved, I hope that is all you need to do for it!

    Alison

    • mrsdevonk February 25, 2010 at 7:57 pm #

      Alison,

      Thank you so much for all the sweet words πŸ™‚

      The majority of my acne is not cystic. While I do occasionally get a cyst, its mostly white heads. My worst habit is I pick at it, and that’s why it looks so inflamed. And, I get multiple white heads in the same vicinity, so it looks even worse. Acne is so miserable. I got told by my dermatologist that I have the acne I should have had at 12. That was embarrassing. Since this is the first time I’ve seeked treatment, they started me out with the gentle stuff. While I know it can work miracles, I really don’t want to end up on Accutane. Its only been a few weeks, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

      I’m really glad that Accutane is working for you. Its amazing how much acne can effect your self-esteem. I’m glad you’re feeling better. Are you seeing any improvement in the scaring? I had friends in HS who were on Accutane and they had such dry skin. I have very sensitive skin, and I’ve been having to use Vaseline on my lips and eye lids(weird I know) every night before bed. I’ve never heard about the body soreness side effect of it though… That’s interesting!

      And again, thank you for the kind words. It reaffirms why I posted it. I really hope we both get perfect, crystal clear skin soon!!

  3. little pink shade tree February 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Hi there-

    I stumbled upon your blog while blog “hopping” and thought I’d share a product that I’m really happy with!!! I use the Benzoyl Peroxide & AHA from Acne.org and it has tremendously cleared my skin!

    It’s fairly cheap and clears up your skin within the first 30 – 60 days. My very best friend began using it 6 weeks ago and now thanks me every single day for telling her about it! Anyway- very best wishes………I know it can be such a hard thing to deal with! I’ve always told my husband that I would permanently (and gladly) take an extra 10 pounds in exchange for great skin! Thankfully, now, mine is relatively clear and I get compliments on it all the time. πŸ™‚

    GOOD LUCK. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

