Health & Fitness Hypocrisy

16 Feb

I frequent a health & fitness message board on a popular website for newlyweds. I know that a lot of you do as well because that’s how we’ve found one another.

This board has done some amazing things for me. It has inspired me to start running and subsequently run a half-marathon. It’s taught me the importance of making sure I’m eating enough and the basics of clean eating. It has also introduced me to some fabulous women accomplishing tremendous feats. I am eternally grateful for the lessons I’ve learned from this board.

As of late, its become “cute” and “popular” to snark upon unwitting new participants and their misguided attempts at health and fitness. Usually, I’m one of the first to snark a ridiculous newb up, and I admit that I, too, used to find it funny. Then, I grew a conscience.

I thought about all the women out there who are scared to go to the gym because of judgmental, condescending bitches who look down upon them for not being at an equal fitness level. When did that become acceptable? Instead of helping educate fellow women struggling with the balance of health and fitness, we point and laugh at them. Why? Do we really have that much of a need to feel superior?

This sophomoric behavior has got to stop. Enough is enough. We should be encouraging one another to live a healthier lifestyle. While I agree that Kinoki Footpads, QuickTrim and cleanses are ridiculous, we should explain WHY they don’t work as opposed to competing for who can have the snarkiest response. There is no need to be condescending.

The only need we have is to be educators and encouragers to women who seek what we all seek: health & fitness.

7 Responses to “Health & Fitness Hypocrisy”

  1. Leah February 16, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    *standing ovation*

  2. balanceformere February 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I’ve been on those sites before and there were only a few people who did it but it affected my view of it!

  3. Angie February 17, 2010 at 10:23 am #

    This is definitely one of the reasons I do not hang out on H&F as much, anymore.
    Great post!

    • mrsdevonk February 17, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

      Thanks, Angie. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels that way…

  4. Bree@beeskneeslife February 18, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I completely agree!

  5. Felice Hershenson February 20, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Awesome site. Gives me the invcentive for my fitness goals this year. I hate being called fatty!!

  6. maqui March 2, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    For some reason I keep having to come back here, your last post sums up why I do….good job.

Leave a Reply

