Envy

12 Feb

I’m not the kind of girl that looks at the glossy pages of a magazing wishing I could look like the models on the pages. I realize that they’re photoshopped to the max, and I can usually point out where they’ve been slimmed down (a.k.a. – butchered).

Not only are they photoshopped, they have professional make up artists making them look even better. Make up can do a lot. Even when I look at my boudoir pictures, I can tell they’re the “Supermodel” version of me – airbrush tanned, professional make up, and a little bit of photoshop.

In short, I’m not the kind of person to get envious of a picture in a magazine.

Until I got home last night and saw this on the counter:

Ah, the dreaded Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition gave meab-envy.

More specifically, Brooklyn Decker gave me ab envy.

So what did I do? Only what any normal, reasonable person would do (sarcasm noted)….. AB WORK!

  • :60 second plank (arms fully extended)
  • 33 Crunches
  • 33 knees-to-chest
  • 34 ankle reaches
  • 66 twisting crunches (33 on each side)
  • 34 reverse crunches
  • 100 bicycle crunches

Yes, totally normal reaction *eye roll*. I really don’t know what gets into me sometimes. Maybe just guilt for not doing ANY strength lately.

Do you suffer from any envy and irrational reactions?

6 Responses to “Envy”

  1. Tameka February 12, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Those abs are ridiculous. I have all over envy. She is truly gorgeous in an all natural, let’s go play volleyball on the beach and then grab some froyo afterward kind of way.

  2. smeenkenrique February 12, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Yes- I get ab envy all the time too.
    Even though I know most pictures in magazines or other media forms are not “real.” & I know most supermodels/actresses/celebs have trainers to keep their butts/abs/etc in tip top shape.
    It’s still hard to not want to look that way.

    ^ That’s an interesting video about what ads often do to models.

  3. Courtney F February 12, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

    My husband has a subscription and I couldn’t even look at the swimmsuit addition. Being pregnant right now, ANYONE with a flat stomach I am a wee bit jealous of! Although, I am loving being pregnant. Once this baby is here, it is game on in the gym!

  4. balanceformere February 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I do have body envy and sometimes life envy. I have some sorority sisters who have huge new houses, are stay-at-home mothers, with kids… but that is a different story.

    The cover-model is from my state: NC.

  5. Vince | UPrinting February 13, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    Wow that’s all I can say perfect abs. I wonder how many hours in gym to achieve that abs. Sport illustrated models are hot.

    • mrsdevonk February 13, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

      Vince, you’re naughty 😉

Leave a Reply

