Sausage, Egg & Cheese Braid

6 Feb

Before I do anything on a weekend morning, a cup of fresh-brewed coffee is a must:

Now that that’s settled, I found a recipe for Jalapeno, Sausage, Jack & Egg Braid in Cooking Light.

Seeing as I’m not that huge of a pepper fan, I decided to modify it a little. First up, the ingredients:

  • Refrigerated pizza dough
  • Shredded Cheese (pick your favorite, I used Colby Jack)
  • Eggs (I used Egg Beaters Southwestern Scramble)
  • Sausage (pick your favorite, I’m a huge fan of ANY Jimmy Dean sausage)

Pretty simple. Brown up your sausage:

Roll out your pizza crust on a cookie sheet either lined with parchment paper or sprayed with Pam:

Scramble your eggs:

Toss a bunch of cheese up the center of the dough, leaving about 3 inches on each side:

Toss your eggs and sausage on top of the cheesey goodness:

Side note: I “strain” my sausage by dumping it on a plate lined with a few paper towels before eating. You’ll be amazed how much grease this cuts out…

Using a sharp knife, make 2 inch slices every inch on both edges:

Braid it, weave it, do whatever makes it look pretty:

Brush some egg whites on it, toss it in the oven at 425 for about 15 minutes, and out comes this beauty:

I overcooked mine a little, but it still tastes fabulous. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Sausage, Egg & Cheese Braid”

  1. Ashley February 6, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Looks yummy! I saw that recipe in Cooking Light and I was thinking about making it. I guess I will now!

  2. balanceformere February 6, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    That looks so good! What a great brunch idea.

  3. Leah February 8, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    The bread looks delicious!! I’ll have to try that sometime.
    & I always “drain” my fatty meat (bacon, sausage, ground beef, etc) too. It definitely does help.
    Good football game last night too!

Leave a Reply

