Back to Training

31 Jan

It’s official, y’all: I am back in training mode!

With the Gate River Run rapidly approaching, I figured it was time to get my rear in gear and start training again! Before I could take off for my 6-mile run, I had to fuel up:

I finally tried to egg white oatmeal that all the food bloggers have been raving about. It was pretty great! I threw in some chopped pecans and a little brown sugar as well. I wanted a banana, but we were out 😦

I had a pretty good, albeit brisk, run. Instead of running on the sidewalks, I took a detour on the cart paths of the golf course instead. At one point, I thought I’d been caught by the neighborhood controlled access, but they let me sneak by. It was really nice running along the cart paths. There were actually a few little hills, and some of it was dirt! I love switching my routes up.

I got home from my run and found the cutest effing thing ever waiting for me:

I love my boys. I also love how they cuddle on cold days 🙂 And by the way, Weenie is doing much, much better after his seizure. Fingers crossed that it was an isolated event!

We spent the rest of the day running errands, and had some chicken and biscuits for dinner:

I didn’t eat all of it. It had pimentos in it… and I don’t like pimentos. I get mental blocks against certain foods (sushi, tomatoes, olives, etc), and I just cannot make myself eat it. It doesn’t happen. Does this happen to anyone else? I always figured I took pickiness to the extreme.

Hubby and I have decided to give up alcohol for two weeks to see its effect on our weight. Yes, you read that correctly. I am giving up booze for two weeks. I texted one of my good friends with this news earlier and her response was, “WHA?! WHY?!” Yeah. Since that doesn’t start until tomorrow, we just had to drink this bottle tonight:

God, I love Cabernet.

I have a big announcement coming up soon. Just you wait! Its something I said I would NEVER do, but hey, things change 😉

6 Responses to “Back to Training”

  1. traveleatlove January 31, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    We gave up wine for a few days after our vacation to de-tox. I actually felt really great and substituted with sparkling water and yummy smoothies! Good luck!

  2. Angie January 31, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Good luck!

  3. Leah February 1, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    1. I can’t do certain textures. I’m a “texture” girl when it comes to food. Boiled peanuts. Olives. Raw tomatoes. some sushi. & some others.
    2. Good luck with the alcohol detox. It definitely makes a difference for Adrian & I when we don’t drink.
    3. Can’t wait to hear your news! 🙂

  4. robyneross February 4, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    What’s in the egg white oatmeal (or is that a stupid question?)

    • mrsdevonk February 4, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      Egg white oatmeal is just oatmeal (however you like it – almond butter, pumpkin, etc) with a tablespoon or two of liquid egg whites. It makes it a little fluffier and gives you some added protein!

  5. fairy tarot February 18, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    Pretty great posts. I just came across your web page and wanted to say i have really enjoyed reading through your site posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I’m hoping you post again shortly.

Leave a Reply

