Small Victories

28 Jan

This week, I’ve had two small victories.

About a month or so ago, the batteries in my scale went kaput and told me I gained 25lbs in 3 days. I never got around to replacing them. Therefore, I haven’t stepped on a scale in over a month. And it’s been really nice not obsessing over that number every single morning. This week we’re house sitting for my mom, and I saw her scale sitting on the bathroom floor… staring at me. It reminded me a lot of the Money You Could Be Saving With Geico. I even started hearing “I always feel like, somebody’s watchin’ me” in my head.

I couldn’t resist. I had to know.  And of course, I feared for the worst.

I have MANTAINED! VICTORY IS MINE! I haven’t gained. I haven’t lost. I have maintained. I don’t remember the exact number the previous time, but I know that they two are within a pound or two. I consider that to be a success!

And for my second small victory…

I went for a run on Tuesday night after work. I’ve been super lazy on my runs lately, and I haven’t felt very fast. Tuesday was different. My legs just wanted to GO! Unfortunately, my sinuses wouldn’t let me go that fast. But still. It was a MUCH quicker 3 miles than I’ve been running lately. I was super proud! Let’s hope tonight goes just as well.

Have you had any small (or LARGE) victories lately?

3 Responses to “Small Victories”

  1. cb808 January 29, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Love your blog! I am obsessive over my scale every morning also. It just broke last night and I am not as brave as you to go without, I’m heading to the store on my lunch break to replace it. BTW, Have you ever tried rinsing out your sinuses with a Nasopure bottle? I have sinus issues a lot and it has really helped me. The website has a lot of information.
    GL!

  2. BalanceforMEre January 30, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Congrats! I think maintaining can be so difficult and YOU DID IT!

    • mrsdevonk January 30, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      I haven’t maintained my GOAL weight, but that’s because I haven’t been actively trying to reach it. I think I got really burnt out after the half marathon, that going into weight loss mode was just not going to happen. It will soon though 🙂 At least I’m only 10lbs away from GOAL weight!

Leave a Reply

