When It Rains…

24 Jan

It POURS.

Remember how I wasn’t feeling well Thursday? Yeah, Hubby called me during my nap and told me that he had been attacked by a pit bull while out doing field work for his job. Thankfully, the bite wasn’t that bad. But we did end up at Urgent Care til 9 pm. By the time we got home and ate dinner, we passed out.

Friday, I was an exhausted and sinus suffering Zombie. And it was another late evening. Or morning rather.

Around 3:30 am, we awoke to what we thought was our mini-dachshund, Kayne, choking. Hubby jumped out of bed to help him, and as I turned on the lamp, we realized he wasn’t choking…. he was having a seizure. It only lasted a minute, but afterward he was really out of breath. We rushed him to the Emergency Vet and they did blood work. They didn’t find anything wrong in the blood work, so they think he might have epilepsy. We finally got home around 5 am… and he’s been his 50% hyper 50% sleepy self since:

I pretty much had an anxiety attack over the whole thing. I love my puppers so much. What am I going to do when I have children?

Saturday night, we had a bunch of family over for dinner. We grilled out steaks, roasted some broccoli, and I made Sangria. First I sliced up a lemon, a lime, and an orange and soaked them in some Courvoissier:

Then I grabbed my bottle of Spanish Table Wine ($3.50 at Winn Dixie, holla!):

And topped it off with some cherry sparkling water:

It was a huge hit πŸ™‚

I also made The Pioneer Woman’s Crash Hot Potatoes:

Holy moly… They were SO GOOD! But then again, anything from the Pioneer Woman is good.

I hope everyone had a better weekend than we did!

8 Responses to “When It Rains…”

  1. ash January 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm #

    oh no! poor hubs! and poor puppy 😦 i hope they’re both doing better. how scary!
    at least it was ended with some sangria. that should make it all better πŸ™‚

    • mrsdevonk January 25, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      Sangria always helps πŸ™‚

  2. Angie January 24, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Oh my. I am so sorry to hear about your hubs and pup. I really hope everyone is feeling better.

  3. starpulp January 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    really sorry to hear about your puppy!! I would be so upset. Hang in there!

  4. Leah January 25, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    OMG about your pupster! But I’m glad he’s doing better.
    Oh yeah. I’m glad Brandon’s doing better too. haha. πŸ™‚ I only talked about the puppy first because I already knew about the hubby-pitbull incident.

    & omg about the crash potatoes. I’ve been lusting after them since I first saw them on her website. For real. I must make them now. πŸ™‚

  5. BalanceforMEre January 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I am so sorry to hear about your husband and the pup. Take care of yourself and know that there are rainbows after the rain.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Back to Training « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - January 31, 2010

    […] boys. I also love how they cuddle on cold days And by the way, Weenie is doing much, much better after his seizure. Fingers crossed that it was an isolated […]

  2. Weenie Prayers « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - March 8, 2010

    […] me that our doxie, Kayne, had another seizure this morning. If you remember, about a month ago, Kayne had his first seizure in the middle of the night, scaring us half to death. We’ve been told by our vet […]

Leave a Reply

