Forgot What Sweating Was Like

17 Jan

Good afternoon! It is an absolutely beautiful, albeit very windy, day here in Jacksonville. I am so glad I put off my long(er) run til today. I woke up this morning craving oatmeal with almond butter and pumpkin:

Although I haven’t had any pain running as of late, I decided to go ahead and tape myself up:

I haven’t ran anything longer than 3 miles since the half, so I just took did it as a precaution.

My run started out pretty great. Although it was windy, it was very nice out. I even broke a sweat! I haven’t sweated during a run outside in Lord only knows how long! It’s been so bloody cold lately. I took my nice long loop through the neighborhood, and as I crossed over the navigational lock about 1.5 miles from the house, I changed directions…. and started running straight into the wind. Look at the huge difference in my splits:

  1. 12:06
  2. 11:57
  3. 11:47
  4. 11:49
  5. 12:12

Ughhhhh.  Stupid wind. Sadly, I also started to a little bit of pain/stiffness about 4 miles in. But hey, I finished… and that’s the important thing.

And lunch consisted of a big chicken salad:

I ate 3/4 of it and gave what was left to the Hubs. I think I ate too soon after running, so my stomach wasn’t completely ready to be filled. It takes a little bit after a run before I can really eat.

While grocery shopping, I came across a childhood favorite: Oatmeal Cream Pies. Yeah. I had to buy them. I couldn’t resist. And I immediately busted them open as soon as I got home from the store:

They’re a lot smaller than I remember… or maybe my hands have just gotten that much bigger. Hmm. For some reason I don’t think it’s the later.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Sunday! I think it’s time for a nap 🙂

2 Responses to “Forgot What Sweating Was Like”

  1. thefitbride January 17, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    OMG, those look so good. I wish you could just buy one at a time! I always want to just get a taste of unhealthy stuff, but usually you have to buy the whole bag or box. I used to be able to buy one tiny bag of Cool Ranch Doritos and get the craving over with but I can’t find them anymore. Boo.

  2. BalanceforMEre January 18, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    That oatmeal cake looks great. Little Debbie and I were good friends in high school! 🙂 Great job on an outdoor/cold run. I haven’t run outside since November.

Leave a Reply

