Grocery Day

10 Jan

Good evening!!

Firstly, I’d like to congratulate Caitlin on completing her first marathon! Way to go, girl! I’m sure its the first of many 🙂

We had a busy morning of running errands including a hunt for the perfect corduroy jacket for the hubby. We went to  Old Navy, Target and Ross, but no luck. I searched a little online too, but we haven’t found the perfect one yet 😦

While we were out, we also did a little wine tasting at Total Wine. I felt like such a lush sipping on chardonnay at 1 on a Sunday. Then we headed to Petco to try to find a new brand of dog food for Cosmo. Cosmo, like many golden retrievers, has a lot of food allergies. His previous favorite brand changed their formula to now include chicken–which makes Cosmo scratch like there’s no tomorrow. We figured a vegetarian dog food might be a good solution. We’ll see how that goes.

We ended our errands at the grocery store where we a little stocked up for the week:

Yes, that’s more Amy’s burritos. I think I’ve created a monster in myself. I also replenished my snack stash:

By then, I was starving. Hummus + turkey + swiss = my favorite sandwich:

The only thing that could’ve made it better would be sprouts. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any around. My mom once told me I could grow sprouts in a sponge, but I have yet to try it out. After lunch, I braved the low 40-degree weather for a 3-mile run in the neighborhood. My usual route is an out and back, and the way out was significantly colder than the way back. I actually started sweating on the way back! My Garmin died about 1/2 a mile into my run, so I have no idea how long it took. It was kinda nice to run and not worry about time.

When I got home, it was Whittle My Middle 2 time:

  • Front plank: 60 secs.
  • Side plank:  30 secs each side
  • Torso twists: 20 reps
  • Plank ups: 10 reps each leg
  • Boat pose: 0 (I totally forgot about it)
  • Bicycle: 50 reps
  • Side plank w/ twists:  10 reps each side

I can tell a difference in my waist already! I can’t wait to see the results after a month.

Remember that Amy’s burrito monster I mentioned earlier? Well, here’s the proof:

I couldn’t resist having one for dinner. It’s one of my new favorites, and its one of the most filling 300 calories I’ve ever had. And to make myself feel a little less guilty, I had some steamed broccoli on the side. My husband gave me the side eye when he saw what I was eating for dinner. He said he won’t hesitate to give me some Gas X and make me sleep on the couch! Ha ha! I hope that doesn’t happen.

Since I’ve revealed my latest food obsession, what’s yours?!

6 Responses to “Grocery Day”

  1. caitlin January 11, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    thank you for your wonderfully kind words!

  2. Ashley January 11, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Pumpkin Oatmeal is my obsession. I eat it for breakfast every morning.

    • mrsdevonk January 11, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

      Try putting a tablespoon of almond butter in it.. It makes it even yummier!

  3. Leah January 11, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Unfortunately my food obsession is and always will be ice cream. Especially since I got an ice cream maker for Christmas with a huge recipe book as a side gift! I’ll have to think of a healthy addition for this question. haha. 🙂

  4. Kristin January 11, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    What dog food did you decide on? Cabela is allergic to chicken (and lamb as we have found out the hard way) as well so we feed her Wellness Whitefish & Sweet Potato. It is not cheap but I signed up on wellness.com and get coupons off a bag of food every 2-3 weeks. I also have a pecto pals card where you get a free bag of food after you buy 10 bags. I also get coupons after signing up online for 10-20 off my entire order. We have also fed her natural balance fish & sweet potato and she liked it but she got bored with that after a while.

  5. Tonya Theophilus January 25, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    You have a great writing style.I noticed your blog from Bing and thought it rocked. How long have you been writing on the internet?Just the other day I recently created a blog myself and its been a really fun process. I’ve met some great people since then although it is frustrating at times! Oh well, thanks a ton for your article!

Leave a Reply

