Cold.

4 Jan

Goooooood evening!

I apologize for my absence over the past few days. We have been ridiculously busy house hunting. We looked at over a dozen houses on Saturday and made an offer on one on Sunday! Here it is:

I just got off the phone with our realtor, and another offer also came in on it this weekend. We had to give a best and final offer which meant raising our original offer by $5000. *sigh* Plus, its a short sale, so we’re stuck waiting. We’re going to continue to look at other houses in the meantime though.

Okay, enough about houses! I’m going to stress myself out (hence the Solo cup filled with wine I’m sipping on as I write this. What can I say? I keep it classy.). I’ve gotten back on the healthy eating wagon after a New Year’s weekend away. Breakfast was my favorite oatmeal with pumpkin:

I’ve made the transition from instant oatmeal to REAL oatmeal, and wow, the taste is so much better. Real oats are so tasty. And I love sneaking that extra serving of vegetables into my breakfast. And for lunch? I had soup. Shocking, I know:

I always eat a ton of soup during winter. It doesn’t help that the high was only in the 40s today. This afternoon I snacked on some cottage cheese and had a banana right before I left work:

People always think I’m weird because I like my bananas all brown and spotty. They’re softer and sweeter that way 🙂 As a kid, I HATED cottage cheese. I thought it was so gross. But in college, I fell in love with it after I tried it off of the Ruby Tuesday’s salad bar. Strange, I know. And now, I only really like the small curd fat free variety. I’m quite particular about food.

I really had to give myself a pep talk to go running this afternoon, but I’m really glad that I did. I had a pretty decent 3.01 mile run despite the fact that I nearly froze to death. When I got back inside from my run, all I could do was this:

Notice the Garmin on the outside of my shirt? Yeah, thats because I had my hands inside my sleeves. I hate gloves, but my hands were freezing. I might just suck it up and buy a really cheap pair of gloves from Wal-Mart to run in. I live in FLORIDA, I shouldn’t be this cold! And yes, I’m fully aware of the fact that I look ridiculous.

Once I defrosted, I sucked it up and did Angela’s Whittle My Middle 2:

  • Front plank: 45 secs.
  • Side plank:  30 secs each side
  • Torso twists: 20 reps
  • Plank ups: 10 reps (these are HARD)
  • Boat pose: 30 secs.
  • Bicycle: 60 reps
  • Side plank w/ twists:  10 reps each side

By this time, I was STARVING and I heard a Sonoma Jack’s and hummus grilled sandwich calling my name:

With a huge salad on the side 🙂

Time for me to finish this glass of wine, and curl up with American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld:

I’m planning on trying to beat 2009 goal of 50 books by reading 75 books in 2010!

G’night!

7 Responses to “Cold.”

  1. Morgan January 5, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    I read that over the summer, and really enjoyed it. 75 books? thats really impressive!

  2. Alex January 5, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    How is that book? It’s on my wishlist of books to read. Your 40 degree weather is making me jealous! I wish it was 40 here (it’s about 20 here in NY).

    PS- I love love love my bananas brown & spotty too! They’re so much tastier.

  3. Jen January 5, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    I really liked American Wife….I bought Prep (Curtis Sittenfeld’s first book) during the holidays but I haven’t started reading it yet!

    • mrsdevonk January 5, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      Prep is great too. Curtis Sittenfeld has become one of my favorite authors. You should get her other book, Man of My Dreams, too.

  4. Ashley January 5, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    I love the house. Good luck on the offer!

    And I had pumpkin oatmeal for breakfast too!

  5. Angie January 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Best of luck with the house hunting! We are still looking, too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Plans « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - January 15, 2010

    […] the house front, we didn’t get the cute one we made an offer on a few weeks ago.  Bummer. But we did end up finding a really, really cute house nearby and […]

Leave a Reply

