Just Another Manic Monday

28 Dec

To start my day, I stepped on the scale this morning.

That POS told me I’d gained FIFTEEN POUNDS in 2 days. Impossible. I’m just assuming it’s batteries are nearly dead because that’s just ludicrous.

So, if that wasn’t stressful enough…  Now that I’ve finally recovered from Wedding PTSD, its time to start the mortgage pre-approval process.  And I’m sure once we finish and recover from the whole home buying experience, it’ll be time to start thinking about babies. Its a never ending cycle of anxiety and stress.

Whoops, I got a little off track. ANYWAYS, we finally got all of our paperwork together, and I submitted it to our loan consultant this morning. I spent the rest of the day anxiously awaiting her response. I didn’t realize how nervous I would be. Most of the day I was expecting her to come back and say we couldn’t afford anything (although I know we can). Paranoia definitely ruled my day.

Breakfast was some overnight oats:

1/2 c. oats, 1/2 c. skim milk, 1 scoop protein powder. I wasn’t feeling them at all, so I barely even ate half.

And lunch was a new favorite:

Campbell’s Select Harvest Beef with Roasted Barley Soup. This stuff is so delicious and filling. And I totally forgot how good plain ol’ Saltines taste in soup. I love soup on a cold day!

And then there’s snacks. I love snack time:

It was the first time I’d ever tried a Lara bar, and I was very impressed! It really did taste like a peanut butter cookie 🙂

After work, I met up with a friend who is trying to get into running. We ran 1/2 miles, then walked 1/4 mile. During our third half mile, we came across a darkly-lit sidewalk construction zone. Needless to say, that didn’t end well. My friend skinned her knee. I was surprised that, for once, I was the one that didn’t get hurt! I always seem to fall down or run into things.

While I was out for the run, I got two emails from our loan consultant. Although we didn’t get approved for as much as I hoped we would, we still got approved for a pretty decent amount. We’re going to start house hunting immediately and we hope to find something by February or March!

By the time I got home, I was starving, and the in-laws were taunting me with Chinese food. I knew that was a bad idea, so instead I steamed some brown rice and broccoli and cooked a Morningstar Farms Asian Patty:

(Wow, sorry about the super yellow picture!)

Morningstar Farms Asian Veggie patties have long been a favorite of mine. It’s been awhile since I bought them, and I was really craving them in the store the other day. We’re making a huge effort to quit eating out and instead eat at home. We’ve got to save every penny that we can to buy a house!

And dessert? Why homemade Peppermint Bark of course:

I swear, that stuff is laced with crack.

I just want to say that I am so proud of myself for photographing ALL of my food today. It’s one of my New Years’ Resolutions that I’ll be posting about later this week.

Hope everyone started their week off on the right foot!

3 Responses to “Just Another Manic Monday”

  1. Ashley December 28, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    Yay for being approved for a home loan! Can’t wait to see some of the ones you’re looking at.

  2. Alex December 29, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    That scale has GOT to be off! Is that even possible, 15 pounds in 2 days?! No way.

    Your food for the day is making me hungry…that soup looks delish! I think I might have to try some.

    • mrsdevonk December 29, 2009 at 6:30 pm #

      And this morning? It gave me another 10.. so thats 25lbs in 3 days! Insanity!

Leave a Reply

