Christmas Recap

26 Dec

There’s only one way to start Christmas break, and that’s with a candy cane in your Starbucks:

I knew I was going to need a little pick-me-up to do all the cooking that needed to be done for Christmas. Since my mother and sister-in-law both had to work on Christmas Eve, I was in charge of Christmas Eve Dinner. I went the simple route with homemade potato yeast rolls and pot roast with potatoes and carrots:

As an appetizer, I put together some puff-pastry wrapped brie and crackers:

Considering it was my first time cooking a holiday meal for the entire family, I was really pleased with the results. We spent the rest of the evening sipping on wine and opening presents with my niece and nephew. They were both really into it, and its a great reminder of how fun Christmas actually is 🙂

My mother-in-law and I decided to make homemade peppermint bark as a sweet holiday treat. We wrapped them in the cutest little cellophane bags, and used them as place tags:

The table before dinner:

After dinner, Brandon and I took the dogs for a much needed walk. It felt so good to get up and get a little exercise. I felt so crappy from all the food. We hopped in the car a little later and drove around the corner to this neighborhood that has amazing lights. I wish I would’ve brought my camera! Note to self: ALWAYS have camera with you!

I knew we’d get up this morning and get a hardcore workout in, so I planned my breakfast accordingly. I made some oatmeal with 1/2 c. of pumpkin:

I think I used too much pumpkin because it ended up tasting more like baby food 😦 So, breakfast take 2 was granola, skim milk and 1/2 a sliced banana:

MUCH better. We ran to the gym (since it’s only a mile away), and then did some pretty serious circuit training. It felt awesome! The walk home in the 50-degree weather was really nice too.

Time to veg out for the Harry Potter marathon we’re having today! Hope everyone had a wonderful holiday!

Leave a Reply

