Outback Distance Classic Half Marathon Report

28 Nov

Even though it’s been a few days, I still cannot believe I did it! I am a half-marathoner 🙂

All my stuff ready the night before:

The morning started out pretty cool out. I was terrified it would be warm and rainy, but it was neither. The Hubs and I got to the race about 45 minutes before start time, and I was shaking with nerves from the moment I got out of bed.

I saw the Hubs somewhere between mile 7 and 8 (I think). I had him give me some Tylenol, and he snapped this pic as I ran by:

Around mile 9, my IT band/left knee just couldn’t take it anymore and I had to implement walk breaks. I ran for 4 minutes and walked for 1 minute for pretty much the rest of the race. It was painful, but I knew I was close. Turning the bend for the finish line:

And after crossing the finish:

And my finisher’s medal:

I still cannot believe I actually did it. It’s weird. And I was extremely disappointed to find they were out of beer by the time I finished. 😦 I was really looking forward to that beer.

I can’t wait for the professional pictures to go up, so I can post them. I want to buy the one of me crossing the finish line and put it in a shadow box with my medal and number.

If I can get my IT band issues straightened out, I’m contemplating doing the Jax Bank Half-Marathon in December. We’ll see 🙂

3 Responses to “Outback Distance Classic Half Marathon Report”

  1. CJ November 28, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    Nice job!! Congrats!! IT band stuff has pestered me off and on as well. Try different stretches for it and ease back into mileage where it starts to hurt. I’ve also used a prochat (I think that’s the name) knee strap before when I’ve had to run with the pain and it helps too.

    CJ

  2. Courtney F November 29, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    Congrats!!! I am very proud of you!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Alive! « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - December 7, 2009

    […] I was done with class today by 3:30, so I came home and went for a run. It was my first run since the half, and it felt GOOD! I did about 2 miles, at an easy 11 minute pace. It was nice to hit the pavement […]

Leave a Reply

