Brats With The Miller High Life Boiled In

11 Oct

Whew! What a weekend! Friday after work, I headed out for what was supposed to be a 4 mile run. Umm… It started POURING a mile in despite weather.com’s prediction of 20% chance of precipitation. At first, the rain felt like a refreshing change from the boiling heat of late. But then, about 10 minutes later, the rain stopped and the humidity took over. Holy humidity. Oh my goodness. So needless to say, I did run/ walk intervals back to the house because I just couldn’t take it.

Eventually, hubby showed up from Melbourne and we went to Chilis for dinner. We love any place that serves 2-4-1 all day. I sipped on the house Cabernet and munched on a delicious quesadilla explosion salad:


Yesterday, we spent the day helping hubby’s parents in the yard. I got so messy laying sod and it was a great workout.

My father-in-law’s birthday was last week, so we celebrated by cooking out and watching some college football. My contribution? Brie and crackers. You know, cause Brie and crackers go hand in hand with cookouts.


What can I say? I was craving Brie.

And you can’t have a cookout without beer:


Our brew of the night, Shiner Bock from the little town of Shiner, Tx. If you haven’t tried it, I highly suggest it. It’s a darker beer with a really smooth taste. Mmm mmm!

Last night marked hubby’s first official time to man the grill single-handedly for a family event. Okay, okay, I helped (just a tad):


And of course, Cosmo stood by praying we’d drop something:


Unfortunately for him, everything made it safely from the grill to the table.

We spent the rest of the evening watching Florida struggle against LSU. It was nice to see them challenged and not trouncing all over the competition. I’m surrounded by Gators. I have to say nice things every once in awhile. It does go against every fiber of my being when I’m stuck in a room with them and they’re all yelling “Go Gators!”. Yuck. I bleed garnet and gold!

Speaking of garnet and gold, FSU sadly lost to Georgia Tech last night. I love FSU. I am a true fan through thick and thin. But seriously, our defense sucks and it has for a few years. Does Bobby Bowden need to go? Yes. But so does Mickey Andrews. The Bobby era is over and he needs to exit gracefully.

Poor Christian Ponder. First decent QB we get in years and he’s stuck with a shitty defense. He’s scoring the points but the defense isn’t blocking anything.

Okay, enough football. Time for coffee and breakfast! Have a great Sunday, y’all!

PS – we’re going to look at houses today. More details later!

One Response to “Brats With The Miller High Life Boiled In”

  1. Ashley @ Bride on a Budget October 11, 2009 at 3:41 pm #

    It was definitely a sad and a REALLY LONG game. Freakin' 2 hour first quarter. Miserable. First time I've ever seen an entire football stadium do the cha-cha slide though.

Leave a Reply

