Can’t Win ‘Em All

29 Sep

Wow! I didn’t realize how long it has been since I last updated. Being without constant access to the Internet makes it very challenging to maintain a blog. I promise to try harder in the future!

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been doing a pretty good job training for the Thanksgiving Day half-marathon. I’ve gotten up to a 7-mile long run, and this weekend I’ll be tackling 8-miles. I attempted to run 7.5ish this past weekend, but it proved to be impossible. First off, as I was laying out my clothes the night before, I realized I forgot to pack a sports bra. Dun dun dun. I thought about it for a few minutes and decided to try to wear a regular bra with an Ace bandage to hold the girls in. Problem solved (or so I thought). Ladies, do not try this at home.

My second bump in the road happened when my alarm didn’t go off. Thankfully, I naturally woke up about 15 minutes after I was supposed to get up. Not that big of a deal. I ate my breakfast of toast with almond butter and drank my cup of coffee. An hour later, my hubby and I hit the pavement. Strike three: My goodness, was it MUGGY. Humid. Miserable. How on Earth is it THIS HOT at 8:30 am?! But, living in Florida, I’m used to that (or at least I should be). I should’ve just paid attention to the old “three strikes you’re out” rule and called it a day. But no, I decided to show some determination instead.

About a mile in, my ace bandage-sports bra substitute was already proving to be a bad idea. So I stopped at one of the bathrooms along the way (gotta love running along a golf course!), and re-wrapped myself to get better adjusted.  That worked for about a mile. Ugh.

Whatever. I can deal with being slightly uncomfortable. Or so I thought. I was doing a really good job staying steady around 12:00 minute miles too. Somewhere around 3.5 miles, I decided that I was going to Galloway-it when I hit 4 miles. It was just ridiculously hot and humid. My plan was to do 5:1 run/walk intervals for the remainder of the run. Sounds like a great plan, no? Well, it would’ve been a fantastic idea had my stomach not decided to ruin my plans. I got to 4.25 miles and that was it.

Yep, that’s right. This girl had a case of the runner’s trots. Could this run get ANY worse?

My husband started leading the way to the nearest bathroom, AKA the Clubhouse. Awesome. I get to walk into some hoity-toity yacht club soaking wet with sweat and lookin’ a hot mess. Needless to say, a few tears were shed as we walked the mile to the bathroom. I was beyond frustrated and every miserable aspect of my run was magnified, thus making it infinitely worse. Brandon couldn’t remember exactly where the bathroom was, so I had to walk into the pro shop and ask where the ladies’ room was. How embarrassing. Did I mention you could totally see through my sweat soaked shirt? Yeah.

Overall, with our walking, we covered a little over 6 miles that day. It’s not a total loss, but it was still a pretty craptastic, miserable experience.

I absolutely love having my Garmin Forerunner 305! It has revolutionized my running. It’s fantastic being able to see where I stand every step of the way. Although it wasn’t something I was initially going to use, the heart rate monitor is such an interesting tool! I really like being able to see that throughout my runs. Basically, Garmin tells me everything I ever wanted to know about my run: pace, distance, heart rate, calories burned, elevation, average speed, max speed, max heart rate, average heart rate, etc. It’s insane! I love love love it!

Outside of running, my life is pretty much in limbo. We’re still waiting for Brandon to be able to transfer with his job from Melbourne. Our lease on our apartment there runs out October 31, so I’ll be spending most of my weekends down there cleaning and packing to be out on time. In my boredom at work today, I made and Excel spreadsheet detailing all of the cleaning and packing that needs to be done in our apartment. I plan on giving Brandon a copy so he can actually be productive and helpful. Lord knows I can’t clean and pack an apartment from two hours away!

I sure hope he can transfer soon because if he can’t, we’re not sure what to do. He’s applied for hardship transfers based on us living two hours apart and having to incur double living expenses. Please Lord, let that come through! I miss my husband! Okay, I miss my dogs too!

Yesterday, I had the brilliant idea to wake up early this morning and get my run in before work. I laid out my workout clothes, set the coffee pot, and got in bed early. I woke up at 5:30 and completely talked myself out of it. I told myself that AM workouts are always awful and that it was entirely too dark outside to run by myself. Yeah, I’m a winner. Needless to say, that means I’ll be running 3.5 miles after work tonight. Lately it’s been better because it hasn’t been as miserable hot outside in the evenings. I’m really looking forward to fall-like weather and I hope it shows up soon. 80 degrees is so last summer. Come on, 60s and 70s!

2 Responses to “Can’t Win ‘Em All”

  1. Ashley @ Bride on a Budget September 29, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

    Aww…sorry that you had a crappy run. And I was totally with on the ace bandage over the bra working. Guess not.

  2. Meredith September 29, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I don't mean to laugh because I would hate to be in that situation but the whole thing was just funny! I am sorry your planned run didn't work out. You'll get it!

Leave a Reply

