Somewhat Better

13 Sep

Last night Bran and I spent the evening watching college football and eating Vegetarian Hamburger Helper. Sounds like a contradiction, right? Well, whenever we need a cheap, no-fuss meal, a box of Hamburger Helper and a bag of Morningstar Farms or Boca Soy crumbles is on our list. Last night was Cheesy Hashbrowns. It really wasn’t that good, but what can you do? And its a little high in sodium, so I’m a little bloated today. Yuck.

I was really nervous about the FSU game for, well, most of it. I couldn’t believe we were losing to Jacksonville State. But, I prayed to the football gods, and reminded them that I’ve been a very patient and devoted fan. Thankfully, prayers were heard and we pulled it together the last few minutes of the 4th quarter. It’s funny because growing up, I HATED football. Then somewhere in college, I decided I loved football. I think tailgating had something to do with it.

This morning, I woke up still feeling crummy. I’ve decided to scrap my long run this weekend in an effort to feel better. I still have plenty of time to train for this half marathon. So, I got up, took some more cold medicine and made myself a cup of my favorite oatmeal:

  • 1/4 c. oats
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 splenda/truvia
  • 1/4 c. water

Yum! My favorite!

Since I’ve been back in Melbourne, my doxie, Kayne, has been attached to my hip (or stomach, or shoulder, or whatever he can attach himself to).


He’s such a baby!

That’s all for now. I’ll be driving back to Jacksonville this afternoon. I may go hop on the treadmill for a short run. We’ll see.

3 Responses to “Somewhat Better”

  1. Ashley @ Bride on a Budget September 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    Aww…you two are so cute together.

    Goodness that game was scary. I'm so glad between the two of us we could piece together what was happening.

    Feel better darn it!

  2. Meredith September 13, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    Hope you feel better! Your pup is so cute!

  3. KelsNotChels September 28, 2009 at 3:53 am #

    Heya! I found your blog through the H/F board, and It looks like a keeper! 😀

    Adding you to my reader!

    Ps: post hamburger helper bloat is the worst… Darn it's easiness!!!

    kelsnotchels
    http://www.kelseytoney.com

Leave a Reply

