I Love to RUN!

7 Aug
Happy Friday!!!

I woke up a little early this morning to catch Jason Mraz on the Today Show. I absolutely love Jason Mraz, and his song, “I’m Yours” was the recessional at our wedding. Every time I hear that song, I smile and think of that day.

Last night I had an absolutely amazing run. It was the type of run that reminds me why I run. It reminded me that I really do LOVE to run. We went to the gym around 7 pm after a light dinner, and I turned the TV on to NCIS. Lately, that’s what I’ve been watching when I run on the treadmill. I’ve been seeing the “5k Run” pre-set on my treadmill, so I decided to give it a try. I put it to level 1, as I always do when it’s a pre-set I haven’t tried before.

The first two minutes were walking at a pace ranging from 20:30 to 15:00, increasing every :30. Easy. I got this. Then the treadmill kicked it up to 6.0. Uh oh. 10 minute miles? Not sure how I feel about that. That’s a litttttle out of my comfort zone. Regardless, I pledged to myself to stick it out as long as I could, then I would just turn it down to a more comfortable pace.

Around 1.5 miles, I turned it down to 5.2 (11:30mm) for a minute. I did this every 3-5 minutes for the rest of my run. In the end, I sprinted the last tenth of a mile at 7.5 mph! My final 5k time was 32:27. I am ridiculously proud of myself!

For dinner last night, I made Skillet Chicken & Vegetables Parmesan from Kraft.com:

It was really tasty, and it was a great, light dinner.

After my run, I made a delicious Green Monster with 1/2 an orange, 1/2 a banana, 1/4 c. FF plain yogurt, 1/4 c. skim milk, some ice cubes, and a scoop of Aria protein powder. Yum!

Now for the moment we’ve all been waiting for: Friday weigh-in time! Drumroll please….. 131.6! That’s -2.4 from last week! I am so ridiculously close to my goal weight for b-pics next weekend.

Tonight we’re going to Happy Hour with my husband’s co-workers. I am really looking forward to some social interaction. It’s kind of sad. Have no fear… I already have a plan: Bacardi & diet with a slice of lime.

Since I won’t get to workout tonight, I want to run an easy 2 miles on the treadmill this afternoon, and do some lifting. I think I’m just going to focus on upper body and abs since my legs could use a rest. I really want to keep things going through the weekend. I have a bad habit of letting my eating slip on the weekends.

Is it harder for you to maintain your eating during the week or on the weekends?
5 Responses to “I Love to RUN!”

  1. Angie Eats Peace August 7, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    Congrats!
    Good job on the run and weight loss! You are doing great!
    The weekends are absolutely harder for me!

  2. Meredith August 7, 2009 at 3:49 pm #

    Congrats on the awesome run … those are the best!!!
    It is really hard for me to stay motivated during the weekends. We like to get out of the house and that leads us to eating out. But we're doing better … still working on the motivation. 😉

  3. Ashley August 7, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    You're doing great!

    It's so much harder for me during the week, but I'm getting better.

  4. Angie Eats Peace August 7, 2009 at 6:16 pm #

    I got my fuel belt at my local running store. It was a bit pricey ($45, I think) but I have had it for over a year and can not imagine long runs without it!

  5. Meredith August 8, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    It is much easier to stay focused on my food during the week than the weekends because I have a routine during the week. But I do generally exercise more on the weekends so it balances out.

Leave a Reply

