Rainbow Cake

18 May

For adorable niece, Summer, has requested that I bake her birthday cake for her 4th birthday because my soda cakes are her “favorite”. She definitely knows how to butter me up.

This pleased me to no end because it allows me to finally bake a rainbow cake! And, I figured I needed a trial run, so here we go!

I started with a regular yellow cake mix and mixed it up according to the directions. Next time I intend on making it with diet sprite.

Then, I separated the batter into four bowls and used gel food coloring to dye each individual batter:

Then, I poured a little bit of each batter into two round cake pans:

Time to bake!

I overcooked it just a tad, so I was worried the colors wouldn’t be very vibrant.

I frosted it with buttercream frosting:

And here’s the inside:

I’m really happy with the way it turned out! For Summer’s cake, I’m going to color the icing green, and put little plastic ponies on top!

4 Responses to “Rainbow Cake”

  1. MrsCJ May 19, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    Very creative!

    CJ

  2. Amber May 19, 2009 at 3:07 am #

    Too cute! Do you have a recipe?

  3. Counting down May 19, 2009 at 12:06 pm #

    What a great looking cake, your niece is going to love it!

  4. The Mrs. May 19, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

    How fun! The colors turned out great! She’s going to love it!

Leave a Reply

