Long Week

9 May

It’s been a long week.

I ran 2.8 miles on Sunday. I’m starting to get used to the heat.

I lifted on Monday.

Tuesday, being Cinco de Mayo, was a planned day off. Unfortunately, we didn’t really get to celebrate. Our smoke detector started beeping every 2-3 minutes about 15 minutes before my alarm went off. The high pitched beep terrified our 100lb golden retriever, and he was attached to my side while I got ready for work. Bran called the apartment complex’s front office, and they said they’d be over soon to fix it. They lied. They replaced the batteries, but it didn’t stop the beeping. Our poor dogs had to listen to that all day. I got home at 5:50, barely in time to call the office and notify them of the problem. We waited for the maintainence man to show up, and he finally did around 8 pm. There goes our evening. We settled for take out from Tijuana Flats instead.

Wednesday, we’d planned on running. Brandon called me at 4:30, and said he’d been called to do a search on an offender’s house, and he’d be home after that. Great, we can still run… Just a little later than planned. He got home around 8pm, and I was exhausted by then.

At least it gave me a chance to start my novel. Yes, I’m writing a novel. It’s total chick-lit but oh freaking well. If you like chick-lit, you’ll love it. I’ve already had a lot of good feedback based on the snippets I’ve provided friends.

I 3.3 miles on Thursday with the husband at the park. I love running at the park. There’s always a lot of people running there, and it inspires me. Sometimes, I find the seasoned veteran runner to be an inspiration, and other times I find the struggling newbie to motivate me. Either way, if those people are out there doing it, then I should be too.

On another note, I found out on Thursday that my mother’s cancer is spreading. I feel extreme guilt for this. We knew it was back last fall, but she insisted on putting off treatment until after the wedding. I tried to convince her otherwise, but she swore up and down her doctor said it would make no difference to wait a few extra months. Well, apparently it did make a difference because its spreading.

So there’s my week in review. It’s been a struggle. Plans this weekend include the beach and a long-ish run on Sunday.

Happy weekend to all.

3 Responses to “Long Week”

  1. 100DAYS May 10, 2009 at 1:20 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about your mom. I’ll keep her (and you) in my prayers.

  2. Soontobehealthybride May 10, 2009 at 4:53 am #

    So sorry to hear about your mom's cancer. You & your family are in my prayers. Keep thinking positive thoughts.

  3. Angie Eats Peace May 10, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    I am very sorry about your mom, and your tough week.
    Positive thoughts out to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

