Lessons Learned

4 Jan

I often have disastrous runs. With each disaster, I learn a new lesson. So far, those lessons have included the following:

1) Eat at least an hour before running
2) Go potty (1 & 2) before running
3) Hydrate before running

And my newest lesson:
4) Consume some sort of caffeinated beverage before running.

Yes. I took off for my run this morning (and by morning, I mean 11), and the first two miles were fine. I felt a little tired, but still capable. As soon as I hit mile 2, I quickly realized I had no energy left. I did run/walk intervals for the next 2 miles, and finished with a time of about 50:00 minutes… Not my best. Today was the first time I’ve ever ran without having coffee/red bull/diet coke beforehand.

Sadly, I am addicted.

2 Responses to “Lessons Learned”

  1. jenhappy January 5, 2009 at 12:00 am #

    Wow, really?! I can’t have caffeine anywhere near when I run. But then, caffeine and I aren’t really tight to begin with. Shows how different each person’s “rules” are! Still, you got the mileage in, and that’s what’s important. Especially since you went during almost the hottest part of the day! I don’t know what the weather was like there, but it was HOT here. I had originally planned to go out around 10am, but I took one look at the thermometer and decided it would have to wait until the sun went down!

  2. 100DAYS January 5, 2009 at 2:27 am #

    You are so awesome! I wish I had the discipline to do so much cardio. =(

Leave a Reply

