Guilt

19 Dec

Guilt is a bitch.

I got home from work last night, and I really wanted to punk out on my workout. So I convinced Brandon to swap days, and work out Friday night instead. After 2 slices of pizza, I started to feel overwhelming guilty. I gulped down a glass of water, thinking it might somehow wash the guilt away. Not shockingly, it didn’t work. The guilt sat there and ate at me. I finally mentioned to Brandon I might just head to the gym for a little workout… He groaned. I took that as my answer. Missing one night won’t kill me. But, the guilt would not subside…. It continued to eat at my soul, until I mentioned the gym again. This time, he agreed to come with. A few minutes later, we were changed and headed down to the gym.

Typically, I absolutely cannot run on the treadmill, nor can I run after eating dinner. Yet I brilliantly decided to give it a try. I hopped on, started out at 5.0, and just kind of relaxed. Two minutes in, I was already bored. So I upped it to 5.3. Two minutes later, bored again. Up to 5.5. Are we seeing a pattern? This pattern repeated, 5.7, 5.9.. Then back down to 5.3, and worked my way back up to 5.9. Eventually I bumped it all the way up to 7.0 for the last quarter of a mile. I finished my 2 miles in 21:28… A full minute and a half faster than I did it on Tuesday. Woo hoo! Granted, I run faster on the treadmill, but I think intervals helped me beat boredom and finish faster. At one point while I was on the treadmill, the gym radio was playing Katy Perry’s “Hot and Cold”… I look over to see Brandon giddily running along to it. I almost peed myself the sight was so funny!

I finished it all up with some strength training: push ups, curls, rows, overhead tricep dips (I think that’s what they’re called), bench presses, lunges, squats, heel raises, and 3 sets of 100 abs. I sweated like a pig, and it was fucking fantastic. I also smelled to high heaven.

What is it about getting really nasty and sweaty that makes a workout feel that much better? It seemingly raises the sense of accomplishment for me. It shows as a physical, visual reminder of the effort I’ve exerted. Love it! I finished up with a nice, long stretch while listening to Enya. It was the perfect way to end a workout.

I’m really looking forward to going to Outback tonight for dinner. I can’t wait to have a glass of wine or two, and enjoy a delicious steak. I’ve earned it this week. I stuck to the plan! I can do this… 12 more weeks!!

On another note, I got back the rest of the engagement pictures from our FABULOUS photographer, Jen. They are AMAZING. She is so incredibly talented… and I’m VERY jealous. I wish I had that sort of eye!

2 Responses to “Guilt”

  1. jenhappy December 23, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    Good for you! I slightly modified their training schedule, and I’m not doing that well. I printed it and I have this color-coded accountability… and there’s a lot of purple (“skipped”).. not good! I am running tonight if it kills me.

  2. jenhappy December 23, 2008 at 7:56 pm #

    And you are too kind!! I’m glad you like the pics, and again i am so sorry it took me so long to get them back to you!

Leave a Reply

