Outback Distance Classic 6k

30 Nov

It was cold.

Well, cold for this Floridian. Brandon and I met up with Sonja and Matt before the race. Somewhere in the next 10 minutes, I lost Brandon. Sonja and I started the race together, and I looked back, and I lost her too. I was all alone pretty quick. I was passing people, so I felt nice and confident. I did the first mile in 11:00. Perfect pace to hit my goal. Somewhere around 2.75 miles, I started to get fairly tired.

When I saw the finish line, I booked it. My official time was 40:23. My goal was 40:00. I’m really happy with that considering the last time I ran 3.6 miles, I did it in 42:23. I seem to like 00:23 times. But I shaved two minutes off so I’m happy.

This morning Brandon and I went out for a run around his parents neighborhood. I went out for 10 minutes, and it felt so stiff and jerky. I couldn’t get in a groove, so I turned around and headed back. All in all, I still managed about a 23 minute run. Not too shabby for a throw away.

Oh, and I probably gained 5lbs this weekend. Ugh. I can’t wait to get home and get back in my routine.

2 Responses to “Outback Distance Classic 6k”

  1. Amber December 1, 2008 at 4:36 am #

    Here’s the link. I got it off of ivillage. I thought it was neat. It kind of shows you what you would look like at different weights. I hope that helps!!http://beauty.ivillage.com/fashion/myvirtualmodel/0,,bvsvh8hk,00.html

  2. Amber December 1, 2008 at 4:38 am #

    How long have you been running? I’m new at this and reading your blog has been an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

