09.20.2008 – First 5k

21 Sep

I ran my first 5k race yesterday. I wish I would’ve taken a shit beforehand. I am very disappointed in my performance.

So my first mile was decent – 11:30. Then it hit me: I had to go to the bathroom so bad. The rest of the race I attempted to do intervals, but spent a good majority walking due to my imminent bowel movements. Second mile – 24:30. Still not too terrible. Finished with a time of 39:30. Last quarter of a mile I booked it as fast as I could cause I could see the finish line. I was ready to cross it and keep running to the nearest bathroom. When I ran, I didn’t feel tired…… Only thing bothering me was the possible prairie dog situation.

Had I not been thwarted by my bowels, I could’ve broken 36:00 time goal. Next time I will.

One Response to “09.20.2008 – First 5k”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. New 5k PR & Cupcakes! « Run, Sleep, Rinse, Repeat - May 16, 2010

    […] Run 5k was pretty much a sure-thing PR.  I’ve only actually run in two 5ks before:  the first being a massive disaster and the second as a support system for a friend.  I didn’t really […]

Leave a Reply

